The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Trivia Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55434-trivia-question.html)

PIAA REF Mon Nov 16, 2009 01:56pm

Trivia Question
 
After the thrower-in, A1,extends the ball over the inside edge of th ebounday plane, she is then contacted (fouled) on the arm by B1. Is this a Intentional Foul on B1, or a Common Foul on B1?

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 16, 2009 01:58pm

Did the defender reach through the plane to foul the thrower? ;)

PIAA REF Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:02pm

No, The thrower A1 reaches the ball over the plane but has not released the ball to pass in the ball. A1's arms are over the plane, and B1 fouls his/her arm. (same type if A1 puts ball over and B1 ties up ball, we have a held ball situation.)

bob jenkins Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 636449)
After the thrower-in, A1,extends the ball over the inside edge of th ebounday plane, she is then contacted (fouled) on the arm by B1. Is this a Intentional Foul on B1, or a Common Foul on B1?

Why is that a trivia question?

And, I'd say "not enough information to answer."

Sure, the ball is over the court, but where (relative to the throw-in boundary plane) did the foul occur?

PIAA REF Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:09pm

You are thinking way to far into it, A is throwing the ball in on a throw-in. A puts ball and arms over the boundary plane, but does not release the ball yet. B1 hits A1 in the arm while going for the ball. Is it a intentional foul because B1 fouled a inbounder or is a common foul because A had the ball and arms over the boundary plane.

I thought this was confusing as well, it was on my NCCA test I just completed. (but the rule is the same for HS)

Indianaref Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 636449)
After the thrower-in, A1,extends the ball over the inside edge of th ebounday plane, she is then contacted (fouled) on the arm by B1. Is this a Intentional Foul on B1, or a Common Foul on B1?

While attempting a throw in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 then fouls A1 on the arm. Answer: NFHS common foul.

PIAA REF Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:21pm

Correct

Mark Padgett Mon Nov 16, 2009 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 636457)
Answer: NFHS common foul.

Since this almost never happens, I'd call it an uncommon foul. :rolleyes:

bob jenkins Mon Nov 16, 2009 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 636455)
You are thinking way to far into it,

I don't think so.

A1 holds the ball through the plane, but B1 contacts A1 on the portion of the arm that is on the OOB side of the plane. Ruling: Intentional Foul.

I knew the answer you were looking for, but your question didn't necessarily lead to that answer.

SamIAm Mon Nov 16, 2009 04:12pm

This foul could potentially be intentional due to roughness. The OP did not specifically preclude roughness, but it was probably intended.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1