The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt #473 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55406-backcourt-473-a.html)

mutantducky Fri Nov 13, 2009 06:59pm

backcourt #473
 
1.A in frontcourt. throw-in. A1 throws to A2 who catches the ball in the air after having been in the backcourt. While in the air throws the ball to A3 who catches it in the frontcourt.

2. A1 throws to A2 who is in the frontcout and catches the ball in air and before landing throws it to A3 who is in the backcourt.

3. Same as 2. But if At has both feet in the FC and his hands are reaching over the division line and the ball is caught or bounces off his hands. Can A2 make a dribble or go into the backcourt if the ball hasn't gone in the FC after the throw-in? Or does A2 have frontcourt status once he touches the ball?

just another ref Fri Nov 13, 2009 07:18pm

1. no violation

2. violation

3. violation

Adam Fri Nov 13, 2009 10:57pm

1. It's never a violation to go from BC to FC, and a throwin does not have backcourt nor frontcourt status.
2. Violation, the allowance is only for the player who catches the ball on the first legal inbounds touch.
3. There is no such thing as a backcourt/frontcourt plane. Three points only applies to a dribble. This ball gained FC status as soon as A2 caught it.

referee99 Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:04pm

If it helps....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 636133)
1.A in frontcourt. throw-in. A1 throws to A2 who catches the ball in the air after having been in the backcourt. While in the air throws the ball to A3 who catches it in the frontcourt.

If it helps, remove 'A in frontcourt.' from your post and from your thinking. Like Snaq said, when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower, its neither in the front court or in the back court.

mutantducky Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:33am

"1. It's never a violation to go from BC to FC, and a throwin does not have backcourt nor frontcourt status."

If not a throwin and A1 dribbling the ball in FC and passes to A2 who leaps from BC and lands in FC, Violation there though?

thanks for clearing those up.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 14, 2009 02:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 636133)
3. Same as 2. But if A2 has both feet in the FC and his hands are reaching over the division line and the ball is caught or bounces off his hands. Can A2 make a dribble or go into the backcourt if the ball hasn't gone in the FC after the throw-in? Or does A2 have frontcourt status once he touches the ball?

If during a throw-in:

If he catches the ball, he establishes team control. BC if A2 retrieves the ball.

If the ball bounces off his hands, there is no team control, no violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 636182)
"1. It's never a violation to go from BC to FC, and a throwin does not have backcourt nor frontcourt status."

If not a throwin and A1 dribbling the ball in FC and passes to A2 who leaps from BC and lands in FC, Violation there though?

If A2 touches the ball before he establishes FC status, violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1