The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   inbounds question, out of bounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55234-inbounds-question-out-bounds.html)

mutantducky Sat Oct 31, 2009 04:24pm

inbounds question, out of bounds
 
A1 on an inbounds play passes to A2 who catches the ball but either lands or is out of bounds. Ball goes to spot of A2 right?
Also, if A2 taps the ball before landing out and the ball sails down the sideline in the air before and then bounces out or the same and the ball then lands inbounds and bounces in a few times then goes out wiht no one touching, does the ball go to the spot of A2.

IF A2 is out of bounds before A1 releases the ball does it still go to the spot of A2?

SAK Sat Oct 31, 2009 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 633971)
A1 on an inbounds play passes to A2 who catches the ball but either lands or is out of bounds. Ball goes to spot of A2 right?
Also, if A2 taps the ball before landing out and the ball sails down the sideline in the air before and then bounces out or the same and the ball then lands inbounds and bounces in a few times then goes out wiht no one touching, does the ball go to the spot of A2.

IF A2 is out of bounds before A1 releases the ball does it still go to the spot of A2?

A2 caused the ball to go out of bounds and caused the out of bounds violation. The ball should be inbounded by team B at the spot closest to the violation.

Lotto Sat Oct 31, 2009 05:24pm

If A2 is out of bounds when she touches the ball, this is a throw-in violation on A1---at least in NCAA.

Rule 9-5. Throw-in Provisions
Art. 1. The thrower-in shall not:
b. Fail to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it crosses the boundary line, it touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player or touched by a player, who is on the playing court, and causes the ball to be out of bounds.

bob jenkins Sat Oct 31, 2009 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 633971)
A1 on an inbounds play passes to A2 who catches the ball but either lands or is out of bounds. Ball goes to spot of A2 right?

Correct

Quote:

Also, if A2 taps the ball before landing out and the ball sails down the sideline in the air before and then bounces out or the same and the ball then lands inbounds and bounces in a few times then goes out wiht no one touching, does the ball go to the spot of A2.
Really? How is this different from any other OOB play? The next inbound spot is closest to where the ball first touched OOB.

Quote:

IF A2 is out of bounds before A1 releases the ball does it still go to the spot of A2?
Unless A2 is OOB on the same sideline as A1 -- in which case it's a throw-in violation and the ball is inbounded at the spot fo the original throw-in.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1