![]() |
Player touches ball to floor.
4.15 case book: ...It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches the floor once or more than once. Do you have anything when a player does this. It seems like it is some violation. But you can't double dribble if your not dribbling.
|
Quote:
Keep in mind that the rules exist only to restrict what a player can do in order provide a fair and balanced game. Beyond the restrictions imposed by rule, a player can do whatever he likes. |
I know, I can't find any rule that has been broken by doing this. It just seems like there should be.
|
The point of this comment in the case book is to be sure that we know that this action is not a dribble, which hopefully will prevent us from improperly calling a violation because we improperly assume that it is one.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It must just be <s>human</s> referee nature that when we see/hear/read about something unusual we immediately assume that it's unusual because nobody does it (duh!) because it's illegal. After all, if it were legal players would do it all the time, right? So we begin querying our gray matter database looking for what violation it falls under. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm. |