The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Quick Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55187-quick-question.html)

PIAA REF Wed Oct 28, 2009 01:55pm

Quick Question
 
Is there a rule reference for the following:

T official calls a foul on 44 White, Blue is shooting 2 shots. After shots White gets ball and during the offensive possession Coach tells official that he had the wrong number on the foul it should have been on 24 White. If the non-calling official has definite knowledge can he or she correct the officials error?

JBleach85 Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 633363)
Is there a rule reference for the following:

T official calls a foul on 44 White, Blue is shooting 2 shots. After shots White gets ball and during the offensive possession Coach tells official that he had the wrong number on the foul it should have been on 24 White. If the non-calling official has definite knowledge can he or she correct the officials error?

I have to go back and look through my rule book and case plays for this one. Off the top of my head I think it is allowed, but if anyone else in the forum has the "definite knowledge," (Wow talk about a play on words) about this situation feel free to jump in.


JB

bob jenkins Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 633363)
Is there a rule reference for the following:

T official calls a foul on 44 White, Blue is shooting 2 shots. After shots White gets ball and during the offensive possession Coach tells official that he had the wrong number on the foul it should have been on 24 White. If the non-calling official has definite knowledge can he or she correct the officials error?

This can be corrected at any time.

Vinski Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 633363)
If the non-calling official has definite knowledge can he or she correct the officials error?

What if the calling official thinks he/she has definite knowledge that it was on 44 white?

Seems to me that you tell your partner what you have and let him/her decided if it should be changed.

bob jenkins Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 633374)
What if the calling official thinks he/she has definite knowledge that it was on 44 white?

Seems to me that you tell your partner what you have and let him/her decided if it should be changed.


Yes. Sorry, I missed that it was two different officials.

Mark Padgett Wed Oct 28, 2009 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 633374)
Seems to me that you tell your partner what you have and let him/her decided if it should be changed.

No. You do this:

http://leftoforange.files.wordpress....-scissors1.jpg

Indianaref Wed Oct 28, 2009 03:03pm

White 44 must be a "star player".

Vinski Wed Oct 28, 2009 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 633392)

Ahhhhh. Democracy.

jdmara Wed Oct 28, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 633392)

Who wins the fight? They all take down each other and you end in a stalemate, right?

-josh

jdmara Wed Oct 28, 2009 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PIAA REF (Post 633363)
Is there a rule reference for the following:

T official calls a foul on 44 White, Blue is shooting 2 shots. After shots White gets ball and during the offensive possession Coach tells official that he had the wrong number on the foul it should have been on 24 White. If the non-calling official has definite knowledge can he or she correct the officials error?

If the other official provides other information to the contrary of what is reported, the calling official may change the bookkeeping error. I had this happen in a game last year.

-Josh

Camron Rust Wed Oct 28, 2009 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 633400)
If the other official provides other information to the contrary of what is reported, the calling official may change the bookkeeping error. I had this happen in a game last year.

-Josh

Were you working a 1-man crew? :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1