![]() |
Is It a Foul?
Hey there. Just a weekend baller with a question to officiating experts out there.
I was wondering about a call that I got into a "discussion" with friends about this past weekend. A foul was called in which Player A went up for a jumpshot while being defended by Player B. Player B stepped forward, while Player A was in the act of shooting. During the shot, Player B lightly tapped Player A in the stomach. Technically-speaking, is Player A entitled to a foul? |
I would not call it if it was nothing more than a light tap. However, I would be telling player B to knock it off.
|
Quote:
4-19-1 A personal foul . . . involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. That's about all we have to go on. So in your sitch, it's judgement. From my interpretation of your description, I would probably pass on it. My reasoning would be that it did not hinder the opponent. However, definitely a HTBT sitch. |
OK. I see. It was a pickup game but I saw it as a foul.
|
I don't think this scenario is so cut and dried. I have seen this more and more lately. It is definitely an attempt by the defense to hinder the shooter's concentration on the shot. If there is contact, I am more inclined to call this now more than I ever was before. It's a cheap attempt to alter a shooter's shot with no attempt to play the ball. Often there is no contact or maybe slight contact with the shooter's jersey. But if I see a defensive player's hand contact the shooter's body, I may call this a foul early. That should get the defense to knock it off.
|
Quote:
An attempt to alter the shot is not necessarily a foul. The defender's intent to alter the shot is not necessarily a foul. Behavior you dislike is not necessarily a foul. Call a foul if the contact in fact hindered the shot. Otherwise, tell 'em to knock it off. |
Quote:
I'm not saying I will always call it a foul, but I am more inclined to than not if there is contact. |
Quote:
Coach: "Mr. Referee, Sir, May I politely ask why you called that foul?" Ref: "Sure coach, he attempted to hinder the shooter's concentration." Coach: :eek: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The OP said the player was "tapped in the stomach."
I have no problems telling the coach to tell his player to knock it off or to call the foul if warranted. But, I personally will not tell the coach it was an attempt to "hinder his concentration." You can use those terms, I won't. |
Quote:
|
I know that this is changing a little bit but, what happens if the shooter is tapped on the lower leg? Is there a difference in what you would call?
|
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50pm. |