The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Injrued Free Throw Shooter procedure (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/54827-injrued-free-throw-shooter-procedure.html)

eyezen Wed Sep 30, 2009 05:29pm

Injured Free Throw Shooter procedure
 
Otherwise known as the Marquette sour grapes rule :D

NCAA Men’s Basketball

PROCEDURE: INJURED FREE THROW SHOOTER

Prepared by Ed Bilik, NCAA Men’s Basketball Secretary-Rules Editor

When an injured player is unable to attempt his free throw(s), the following procedures shall be employed:

1. The coach from the opposing team shall select, without undue delay, one of the four players remaining on the court to attempt the free throw(s). Once selected by the coach, the shooter may not be changed.

2. After the selection has been identified to the referee, that player and his coach shall be informed of the selection.

3. A legal substitution(s) shall be made before the expiration of the 20-second time limit to replace an injured player.

mutantducky Wed Sep 30, 2009 06:58pm

high school is it the coach of the player picks the shooter from the bench?

BktBallRef Wed Sep 30, 2009 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 628138)
high school is it the coach of the player picks the shooter from the bench?

The coach of the injured player sends in a sub to shoot the FT(s).

mutantducky Thu Oct 01, 2009 04:59pm

does play have to be live again before the sub can come out?

BktBallRef Thu Oct 01, 2009 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 628345)
does play have to be live again before the sub can come out?

The ball is live when it's at the FT shooter's disposal.

There's no rule that prevents a sub from entering while the clock is stopped and then leaving before the clock starts again. Perfectly legal.

justacoach Thu Oct 01, 2009 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 628345)
does play have to be live again before the sub can come out?

No. There is no requirement for a sub to see live ball action. This is one reason why you may have a different sub shoot 1 shot of a Tecnnical foul. Be careful because if A6 subbed for A5 to shoot tech, A5 is NOT eligible to reenter until at least 1 click has transpired. A7 may sub for A6 and shoot remaining tech and may be replaced by A8 if so desired.

Page 23 of 2008-2009 FED RULES BOOK
RULE 3
SECTION 3 SUBSTITUTION
ART. 4 . . . A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall
not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been
started properly following his/her replacement.

Adam Thu Oct 01, 2009 08:55pm

Had a coach pull a player right after he committed a foul this past season. First free throw is shot, and the horn buzzes for subs. I turn and look and the guilty player is on his way in. I send him back to the table, inform them he can't come in until the clock runs, and the coach grins and tells me he was seeing if I was paying attention.

Tio Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:32pm

Isn't this only for common fouls? I believe on intentional fouls the old rule applies.

Camron Rust Fri Oct 02, 2009 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 628399)
Isn't this only for common fouls? I believe on intentional fouls the old rule applies.

That is what I also read...for Intentional for Flagrant the offended team's coach gets to select the shooter.

BillyMac Fri Oct 02, 2009 06:33am

From List Of Short Reminders ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 628345)
does play have to be live again before the sub can come out?

"Must sit a tick, don’t have to play a tick". (with exceptions)

SAK Fri Oct 02, 2009 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 628372)
No. There is no requirement for a sub to see live ball action. This is one reason why you may have a different sub shoot 1 shot of a Tecnnical foul. Be careful because if A6 subbed for A5 to shoot tech, A5 is NOT eligible to reenter until at least 1 click has transpired. A7 may sub for A6 and shoot remaining tech and may be replaced by A8 if so desired.


If the coach calls a time out, A5 may return without having to sit a tic. Correct?

bob jenkins Fri Oct 02, 2009 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 628453)
If the coach calls a time out, A5 may return without having to sit a tic. Correct?

Not correct.

Once there's a sub, A5 must sit. The TO can be used (in some situations) to avoid making the sub in the first place.

SAK Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:26am

it is a difference of when the time out is taken however, it has a major impact. Especially considering that A5 would have been the one to take the free throw.

Ch1town Fri Oct 02, 2009 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 628377)
Had a coach pull a player right after he committed a foul this past season. First free throw is shot, and the horn buzzes for subs. I turn and look and the guilty player is on his way in. I send him back to the table, inform them he can't come in until the clock runs, and the coach grins and tells me he was seeing if I was paying attention.

How did he get out of the game before the first one was shot?

sseltser Fri Oct 02, 2009 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ch1town (Post 628508)
How did he get out of the game before the first one was shot?

One and one? ... or a one shot foul?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1