![]() |
Typo or a need to read?
If a technical foul is administered to team A to end the second half and the score is tied after the resulting FTs how does the extra period begin?
Fed & NCAA please. |
Fed -- The extra period begins with a jump ball.
|
FED
5.6 COMMENT B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended. It also applies when the foul occurs after the second half has ended, provided the score is tied.If the score is not tied, the free throws are administered unless the outcome of the game will not be affected. If the outcome is not already decided, the free throws are attempted immediately as if the foul had been a part of the fourth quarter. In this case, if any overtime period is necessary, it will start with a jump ball. The division line throw-in following the technical foul cannot be carried over to the overtime as the fourth quarter ended with the last free throw. (5-6-4) |
Okay that's what I thought!!
When reading Referee magazine & taking the little quiz, I answered: c) jump ball then I turn to the answer key & it says a) Throw-in to team B as the result of the technical foul I'll charge my :confused: to a typo Thanks! |
Common wisdom around here is that Referee magazine often has "typos" of this sort. I think the big picture is to keep asking around, whether the source is the tests, Referee magazine or this forum. Keep discussing. Keep getting "interps". Eventually you find a concensus.
|
Quote:
Isn't a concensus a count of the prison population? ;) (Only poking fun here because it's rare to see Juulie make this type of mistake. Of course, the thread is about typos, so maybe she was just staying on topic.) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It's nice to see Referee screwing up rulings for basketball, too. Makes us football folks not feel so singled out.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am. |