![]() |
|
|
|||
9-1-3d NHFS Editorial Change ? ? ?
Your seasoned consideration of this is appreciated . . .
Rule 9-1-3d. says, "No player shall enter or leave a marked lane space." In view of the wording stated in 9-1-3g, the "vertical plane" seems always to have been an important consideration in whether a lane-space violation occurs. That is, break the plane by putting a foot in the air over the free throw lane and a violation has occurred under the proper circumstances. But now the 2009-10 NFHS MAJOR EDITORIAL CHANGE on 9-1-3d makes this clarification: that "a player leaves a marked lane space when he or she contacts any part of the court outside the marked lane space (36 inches by 36 inches)." That seems to change the "vertical plane" stipulation to permit anything short of contact with the floor within the lane until, for instance, the ball strikes the rim. Does this '09-10 9-1-3d editorial change invalidate 9-1-3g? |
|
|||
The way I read it, it adds a further restriction. A player violates if they break the plane with their foot, or if they touch the floor in the lane with their hand.
Presumably, breaking the plane with the hand is still not a violation... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Pushups ???
Has it always been the case? For the past twenty-eight years, if a player in a marked lane space lost his balance and did a "pushup" in the lane, without either of his feet crossing the lane line plane, I would have called the violation, but I'm not sure that previous rule wording would have backed me up on my call, not that anyone would have complained.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Context?
I think it needs to be read in conjunction with the change to 9-1-3g requiring a foot "near" the outer edge of the lane line -- it prevents some giraffe from doing a split to get around the intent of the rule by sticking a foot near the line and the other foot in position to go around the occupant of the first spot from the outside
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NHFS vs. NCAA | psujaye | Basketball | 6 | Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:48am |
Asa, Nhfs, Ncaa | tcannizzo | Softball | 1 | Sun Aug 06, 2006 11:30am |
Editorial change: What's the difference? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 4 | Sun Jul 31, 2005 12:28am |
RRP FT editorial change | Nevadaref | Basketball | 0 | Mon Nov 01, 2004 02:42am |
HELP ASA vs NHFS | Bagman62 | Softball | 9 | Tue May 25, 2004 06:22pm |