![]() |
|
|
|||
Easy question for the seasoned guys.
Old question but need some clarification.
Offensive player (A1) pump fakes defender (B1) into the air. A couple of scenarios. 1. A1 initiates contact on his shot by jumping into B1, who has gone straight up with his arms? Contact is enough to have to make a call. 2. A1 pump fakes defender into the air and tries to draw the foul by maintianing his pivot foot , and steps into B1. Easy call if B1 hammers A1, but the question is more towards B1 going up straight and not initiating contact with A1. Is there a level of initiating too much contact from A1 not to get the call or get a foul called on A1. Not knowing the answer here, provide me with the "rights" of the defender even though he is out of position, where B1 may not be called for the foul, and where A1 could be called for the foul for initiating contact even though A1 got B1 out of position.....thanks...JP The rule book (NCAA) referenced defender is not in the guarded position unless he in on the ground? |
|
|||
Quote:
If A1 is intiating the contact, I wouldn't call a foul in A1s favor even IF the defender doesn't have LGP. That being said, I have rarely seen an offensive foul called on A1 for the pump fake & intiating the contact on jump shots. Maybe on a lay-up, but rarely on the jumper... usually a no call. |
|
|||
The only correct call by rule for the scenarios which you have detailed is a player control foul.
The defender is allowed to jump straight up within his vertical plane as well as extend his arms vertically. He should not be penalized for those actions. If the offensive player initiates the contact, then the official should not penalize the defender under your circumstances. Only the offensive player would be at risk, by rule, of being charged with a foul. |
|
|||
I rarely see the defender get displaced or put at a disadvantage (shot usually misses the mark) when the offensive player creates that type of contact on a jump shoot. In that instance, is a no-call the correct call, by rule?
|
|
|||
Quote:
You altered the condition which he stipulated by stating that the defender isn't displaced or put at a disadvantage. That was not the scenario which I was answering. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Say the defender is jumping forward toward the shooter, thus contact is his fault, but the offensive player also gives a completely blatant shoulder to the torso of the defender. Who is the foul on? Can't be PC because the defender isn't legal. Can we have a double foul? Both players have committed a foul at the exact same time. |
|
|||
I don't think that's the rule. Being legal just gives the defender "extra" movement. Just because the defender isn't legal doesn't me he can't be fouled.
I'd judge whether the defender's "forward jump" would have caused contact if the offensive player had not also moved forward. If so, I'd likely have a foul on the defense. If the defender would not have made contact, then the offense must give him room to come down. So, it's either a PC foul or a no-call (if no advantage was gained -- and I'd say that's the case in most "real life" plays where the offense moves forward). |
|
|||
Quote:
A ball handler or shooter does not have to "give him room to come down". But a player without the ball can not move under and occupy the landing space of an airborne player (must provide a place to land) Am I wrong? In the OP question - No foul on defense, probably no call on A1 unless he under cuts the airborne B1. In the next example - depends on how much B1 moves forward - if slightly same as above, if more then if contact foul on B1. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Easy Question | fastpitch | Softball | 1 | Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:15am |
First timer....and an easy question to start with | WeekendRef | Basketball | 9 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:06pm |
Easy question for you guys... | devdog69 | Softball | 14 | Fri Jul 18, 2003 04:25pm |
Another Easy Play [probably too easy for this board] | whiskers_ump | Softball | 14 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 04:59pm |
To those seasoned officials...yet another question | dhodges007 | Basketball | 8 | Thu Mar 29, 2001 04:34pm |