The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Count or no count (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53921-count-no-count.html)

Mark Padgett Fri Jul 10, 2009 01:14pm

Count or no count
 
NF rules. A1 is in frontcourt dribbling. B1 slaps the ball into A's backcourt. A2 is standing in backcourt but doesn't go after the ball which comes to rest. Do you start a 10 second backcourt count when the ball goes into the backcourt?

BTW - this was discussed on this board in 1999. :eek:

Ch1town Fri Jul 10, 2009 01:38pm

Does Team A still have TC?
What is the location of the ball?

Whoop there it is!
But I'm thinking you already knew that :confused:

Raymond Fri Jul 10, 2009 01:46pm

yes

just another ref Fri Jul 10, 2009 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 613872)
NF rules. A1 is in frontcourt dribbling. B1 slaps the ball into A's backcourt. A2 is standing in backcourt but doesn't go after the ball which comes to rest. Do you start a 10 second backcourt count when the ball goes into the backcourt?

BTW - this was discussed on this board in 1999. :eek:


So, are we reviewing for our final exam, or what?

ILMalti Fri Jul 10, 2009 03:41pm

without looking back at the 1999 thread,

TC still exists for team A
The ball is in team A backcourt,

and 9.6.8 seems to indicate that a count should start. "A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 secs."

I do not see why A2 position is important. I shall go and see if I can find 1999 thread.

Nevadaref Fri Jul 10, 2009 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613935)
I shall go and see if I can find 1999 thread.

You don't have to go that far back. ;)

2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

ILMalti Fri Jul 10, 2009 03:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 613937)
You don't have to go that far back. ;)

2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...s-archive.html

Thanks, the forum seach only returned posts since 2007, then I had to wait for my next search.

So A2 being in backcourt is of no consequence?

Adam Fri Jul 10, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613938)
Thanks, the forum seach only returned posts since 2007, then I had to wait for my next search.

So A2 being in backcourt is of no consequence?

You're correct. It's irrelevant.

bob jenkins Fri Jul 10, 2009 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ILMalti (Post 613938)
So A2 being in backcourt is of no consequence?


Of course it doesn't effin matter.

ILMalti Fri Jul 10, 2009 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 613955)
Of course it doesn't effin matter.

Excellent.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1