![]() |
Throw in question
NF rules. I know we've discussed threads about a defender reaching over the boundary on a throw-in. I've been told that if they reach over, and in a "continuous action" slap the ball, you call the T, and that's how I call it.
What if this happens - A1 to inbound on spot throw-in. B1 reaches over trying to slap the ball. A1 moves the ball around so B1 can't slap it. You start to blow your whistle for the violation when suddenly A1 hits the ball. Should you go with the call you were originally (and correctly) going to make - a violation, or should you "change" your call (remember, you haven't said anything yet) and call the T? |
Quote:
|
The intent of the rule is to assess the more severe penalty against the defensive team.
You should charge B1 with a player technical foul AND assess the team warning for delay, if one has not already been recorded in the scorebook. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
10.3.10 SITUATION D: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through
the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1’s hands. Earlier in the game, Team B had received a team warning for delay. RULING: Even though Team B had already been issued a warning for team delay, when B1 breaks the plane and subsequently contacts the ball in the thrower’s hand, it is considered all the same act and the end result is penalized. A player technical foul is assessed to B1; two free throws and a division line throw-in for Team A will follow. The previous warning for team delay still applies with any subsequent team delay resulting in a team technical foul. (4-47; 9-2-10 Penalty 3; 10-1-5c) |
Quote:
This case exists to get around the dilemma that exists wherein a defender can't actually touch the ball without first breaking the throwin plane. If the relevant rules were taken literally, you would never be able to get to the T. I don't believe this case is intended to apply to two separate and independent motions/acts. Remember that in the posted situation, the whistle was being blown for B1's original swat at the ball that missed (perhaps retreating to the inbounds side of the line) after which B1 swatted again and hit the ball....two clearly separate acts. |
I believe that the NFHS doesn't want us to parse the actions. If the defender breaks the plane and contacts the ball in the thrower's hands, no matter how many times he swipes at it, then charge the T.
Take the defender's entire actions collectively and penalize the end result. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Given that is your opinion, then we disagree.
I'm picturing a defender waving and swinging both arms as he attempts to impede the throw-in. If in doing so he swipes with one arm and breaks the boundary plane, but does not touch the ball with that hand, or perhaps he happens to place a foot OOB, but follows this quickly with a swing by the other arm which contacts the yet to be released ball, then I'm assessing a technical foul and believing that I'm correct by rule. I'm taking the entirety of his actions collectively and penalizing the result. I seriously doubt that the rule writers intent was for an offender to get off with a lesser penalty because of a small time difference. That's not within the spirit of the game or a sense of justice. |
Quote:
At the HS level it would matter to me by how much the defender was breaking the boundary plane. If it was trivial, you can bet that I would ignore it. If he took a couple of big swipes which were obviously in violation of the rule, but failed to make contact, then I'm calling a violation. What I'm not going to do is allow the offending player/team to suffer less of a penalty than deserved by taking a microscopic view of the rule. If he takes a third swing while I'm preparing to sound the whistle and whacks either the player or the ball, then he's getting the more severe penalty for that. |
I have a patient whistle on these things. If the defender accidentally reaches across the line and immediately pulls back, I've got nothing. I'm not saying he has to stay over the line for an hour, but I think the unfair advantage theory works well here -- did the defender disrupt the offensive player by his short stay over the line?
The other good thing about a patient whistle is that if the OP situation occurred, you'd probably have the contact with the ball prior to the whistle, which would make the call easy -- a T. |
Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.
|
Quote:
I don't mean to come across as harsh, but I really don't see using the term "accidentally" here, and I don't see where it matters. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53pm. |