|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Tell the D2 evaluator to go back to working driveway basketball.  Under NF rules, team control ends when there is a shot, a dead ball or the other team gains control.  Team B would have only gained team control if one of their players gained player control.  Player control is defined as holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.  B1 did neither, so no player control, therefore no team control for team B, therefore no loss of team control for team A. You are not the clueless one here. You did not kick it. Of course, if B1 would have kicked it, it's a dead ball.   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 other suggestions that were great advice. I'm guessing the college rule is different as well. In this case, I blame the rule. A rule is not very effective when 99% of coaches and players don't know or understand it. This rule falls in that category. But this an old topic on this forum. I shouldn't incite anything.   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Nope, the NCAA rule is exactly the same.  It is worded differently because of there being team control during a throw-in, but the written exceptions make the rule yield ALL of the same calls as at the NFHS level. This D2 guy must be one of those officials with great "presence" to offset his lack of rules knowledge. Quote: 
  Obviously, I don't agree with that thought. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| 1st to touch | Ch1town | Basketball | 9 | Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm | 
| Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm | 
| First to touch | ripcord51 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm | 
| First to touch | RefTip | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am | 
| Can't be the first one to touch it? | dub3 | Basketball | 18 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am |