The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do ya got? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53733-what-do-ya-got.html)

Johnny Ringo Tue Jun 23, 2009 07:34pm

What do ya got?
 
Player A is in the air and controls the rebound and passes out to the sideline where his teammate is. However, his teammate leaves the area and 1) player runs and grabs it and 2) runs and starts a dribble.

What do you have?

Nevadaref Tue Jun 23, 2009 08:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 610443)
Player A is in the air and controls the rebound and passes out to the sideline where his teammate is. However, his teammate leaves the area and 1) player runs and grabs it and 2) runs and starts a dribble.

What do you have?

I've got an opportunity to refer you to the Past Interps Archive. :)

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive rebound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)

tjchamp Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:04pm

The OP does not say A1 returned to the floor before making the pass. However, I think the same rationale applies. No pivot has been established, so a dribble may be started, which is what happened when the "pass" was made.

Johnny Ringo Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:11am

You are correct. Player A was in the air and I would assume say concept ... This is what I thought when I saw the play originally. My partner called a violation and at the next break came together and I asked him what he had. I told him I thought what happened was legal and that his attempted pass could have been considered the start of a dribble.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:30am

What violation did your partner charge the player with?--A self-pass. :rolleyes:

Johnny Ringo Wed Jun 24, 2009 01:20am

He called a travel.

What would be the correct call if the player had dribbled and then made this pass (not a fumble) and recovered it.

mbyron Wed Jun 24, 2009 06:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 610506)
He called a travel.

What would be the correct call if the player had dribbled and then made this pass (not a fumble) and recovered it.

Assuming that he ended his dribble before the pass, that would be a double dribble. But you knew that. ;)

dsqrddgd909 Wed Jun 24, 2009 07:19am

<newbie disclaimer here> Does the call change if the pass never hits the floor? (picturing a high lob)

bob jenkins Wed Jun 24, 2009 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsqrddgd909 (Post 610518)
<newbie disclaimer here> Does the call change if the pass never hits the floor? (picturing a high lob)

It does if the pivot foot moves.

Amesman Wed Jun 24, 2009 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 610450)
A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)

I think I must be reading this wrong ... "could have continued the dribble" even after securing the ball?? (Or after just 'reaching' it and NOT gathering it but rather pushing it groundward one or more times to continue the dribble?)

bbcof83 Wed Jun 24, 2009 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 610589)
I think I must be reading this wrong ... "could have continued the dribble" even after securing the ball?? (Or after just 'reaching' it and NOT gathering it but rather pushing it groundward one or more times to continue the dribble?)

He could have gotten to the ball and continued the dribble if he doesn't end it (by grabbing it with two hands) first.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1