The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53672-travel.html)

Da Official Wed Jun 17, 2009 03:51pm

Travel?
 
I've been considering this scenario, although I haven't seen it occur yet but wanted to make sure I knew what to do if it ever happens.

NFHS rules if it matters...

Situtation: A1 stops dribbling with 2 feet on the floor. A1 raises the left foot and steps to pass the ball but doesn't pass the ball. Both feet are back on floor. A1's forward momementum gets him/her off balanced and A1 raises the right foot off the floor and takes 2 hops on the left foot. Right foot still in the air.

At any point in this scenario would we have travelling?
Can A1 legitimately hop the length of the floor as long as his pivot foot never touches the floor?

Please advise...and cite rule if possible.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 17, 2009 03:55pm

The hop on the left foot is traveling.

4-44-3b ...If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Jun 17, 2009 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 609434)
I've been considering this scenario, although I haven't seen it occur yet but wanted to make sure I knew what to do if it ever happens.

NFHS rules if it matters...

Situtation: A1 stops dribbling with 2 feet on the floor. A1 raises the left foot and steps to pass the ball but doesn't pass the ball. Both feet are back on floor. A1's forward momementum gets him/her off balanced and A1 raises the right foot off the floor and takes 2 hops on the left foot. Right foot still in the air.

At any point in this scenario would we have travelling?
Can A1 legitimately hop the length of the floor as long as his pivot foot never touches the floor?

Please advise...and cite rule if possible.


NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA rules: When A1 stopped his dribble he had not yet established a pivot foot. When he lifted his Left foot (LF), his Right foot (RF)became his pivot foot. When he raised his RF, he can not return it to the floor until after he releases the ball for a pass or a field goal attempt. With his RF off the floor when he landed on his LF from his first hope he committed a travel violation.

MTD, Sr.

mbyron Wed Jun 17, 2009 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 609435)
The hop on the left foot is traveling.

Yep. Called it just last night. :)

Da Official Thu Jun 18, 2009 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 609435)
The hop on the left foot is traveling.

4-44-3b ...If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.

Thanks guys, I missed the the jump = hop!

BillyMac Thu Jun 18, 2009 05:45pm

Dance this new creation. It's the new sensation ...
 
Put your right foot forward
Put your left foot out
Do the Bunny Hop
Hop, hop, hop!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1