The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 09:28am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Didn't the NFHS come out with a recent interpretation of this situation?

5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a timeout.

RULING:An accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 06:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,335
Just Couldn't Put My Finger On It ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
5.8.3 SITUATION E
just another ref: Thanks. Nice research. Nice citation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 02, 2009, 11:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
just another ref: Thanks. Nice research. Nice citation.
Research?? What makes you think I didn't quote this from memory?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
5.8.3 SITUATION E: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when the Team A head coach is yelling "side out" offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a timeout.

RULING:An accidental whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption.

Scenario: A1 is holding the ball in the front court and being closely guarded by B1 with less than 1 minute in the game Team A up by 2. As I'm nearing 5 on a 5 second count I hear what I thought was a time out request from Coach A. I blow the whistle and point to the bench and state timeout. Coach A who obviously isn't the smartest says "I didn't call a timeout, I don't want a timeout" even though he has 2 remaining. I say "ok so you don't want the timeout". He says "no". I say "ok, we have a 5 second count violation, (Team B's) ball."

Question: Based on the above case play I was wrong to call the violation. My thing at the time was the coach said what sounded to me and my partner to be a call for a timeout and considering the play and the score it was pretty reasonable to expect a timeout called. If I follow the point of interruption rule to the letter it would be Team A's ball on a throw in, correct? How fair is that? Is it reasonable to wonder what if coaches started using this non-timeout tactic to their advantage?
__________________
Da Official
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 03, 2009, 03:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
1. make sure he wants a timeout. It's okay to hear the request, hit your 5 second count, and verify by looking at the coach he wanted the TO before granting it. A coach in this situation will almost always give the signal and the words for this request.

2. Whether you made a mistake depends on whether you actually got to 5 seconds prior to blowing the whistle. If you blew before hitting 5, you should give A the ball back. It may not seem fair, but it's not fair to penalize them prematurely either. A1 could have thrown a pass just before you got to 5.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MLK Tournament - No FIGHTS All_Heart Basketball 8 Mon Jan 21, 2008 02:56pm
JV Tournament brandan89 Basketball 16 Tue Jan 15, 2008 12:17pm
First Tournament IHSAref Volleyball 1 Mon Oct 08, 2007 07:17pm
FP tournament NDblue Softball 13 Thu May 24, 2007 04:44pm
Season/s First tournament whiskers_ump Softball 19 Thu Jan 16, 2003 06:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1