The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   1st to touch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/53376-1st-touch.html)

Ch1town Tue May 26, 2009 10:14am

1st to touch
 
After saving a ball from going OOB a player may be first to touch as long as something is in & nothing is out, right. Is that true for NCAA too?

JRutledge Tue May 26, 2009 10:36am

This is not the NFL. A player can come from out of bounds (when they were out of bounds under their own volition) they can come back and touch the ball at anytime legally as long as they have established themselves in-bounds first before touching the ball.

Peace

Adam Tue May 26, 2009 10:50am

One of the biggest myths, IMO. I've seen otherwise good officials make this bogus call. :(

Brad Tue May 26, 2009 10:58am

There is an NCAA rule about going OOB and then returning and being the first to touch the ball. If a player goes OOB "under his/her own volition" (i.e. on purpose) it is a violation. For example, a player who runs OOB to avoid a baseline screen, then reenters the court on the other side of the lane and receives a pass.

However, saving the ball and then returning inbounds to retrieve it is not a violation.

Just remember, if no volition then no violation :)

NCAA Rule 9-4. Player Out of Bounds
Art. 1. A player who steps out of bounds under his/her own volition and then
becomes the first player to touch the ball after returning to the playing court
has committed a violation.

Ch1town Tue May 26, 2009 11:09am

Thanks all.

Had a guy telling me the HS/NCAA difference page in the back of the book said it was illegal in NCAA.

I didn't have me book so I went to the real time, interactive rule book :)

wanja Tue May 26, 2009 11:11am

A player who is legally out of bounds can legally touch the ball after establishing inbounds status. Per rule 9-3, "A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason". In that case a violation occurs immediately except....

Consider the following cases.

9.3.3.b A1 intentionally goes out of bounds outside the endline to have his/her defender detained by a screen: VIOLATION called immediately

9.3.3.a A1 intentionally steps out of bounds from the restricted area of the free throw lane: VIOLATION called immediately


9.3.3.d b5 intentionally steps out of bounds on the sideline while a1 is on his/her way to an uncontested layup with the score tied and 4 seconds on the clock: DO NOT CALL VIOLATION


A2 saves a throw in from going out of bounds by tapping the ball to the court inbounds near A2's basket. A2's momentum carries A2 out of bounds. A2 returns to court takes 1 dribble and scores. NO VIOLATION.

grunewar Tue May 26, 2009 11:23am

And for those of you using NFHS Rules but may not have your books handy, here are three HS Case Plays:

7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.

7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores. RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)

7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court. A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in (a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)

mbyron Tue May 26, 2009 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad (Post 604620)

Just remember, if no volition then no violation :)

I suspect that even Tweedledee can agree with that logic.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tweedledee
"Contrariwise," continued Tweedledee, "if it was so, it might be; and if it were so, it would be; but as it isn't, it ain't. That's logic."


Adam Tue May 26, 2009 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 604649)
I suspect that even Tweedledee can agree with that logic.

Sounds like Bill Belichick, "It is what it is."

BillyMac Tue May 26, 2009 07:36pm

Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
 
If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Also, two short reminders:
You are where you were until you get where you're going. (player location)
Must have something in and nothing out. (returning inbounds)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1