The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 13, 2009, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
foul-travel-shot question

a1 drives to the basket and picks up his dribble in going for a layup. B1 fouls a1 by grabbing his arm. a1 shoots and scores but because b1 is holding him, he is unable to release the shot until after his pivot foot has lifted and then been placed on the ground again. What is the correct call and procedure? team a is not in penalty.





I would call holding foul, the shot does not count..... Not sure but I would award a1 two shots and call it a shooting foul.

this happened recently in a pick-up game and got me thinking...
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul on shot causes travel. Robert E. Harrison Basketball 52 Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:01pm
Foul? Travel? ChuckElias Basketball 20 Mon Nov 28, 2005 02:51pm
travel then hard foul oc Basketball 5 Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am
Question - Foul away from ball after release of the shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 3 Wed Feb 23, 2005 06:24pm
Double whistle, foul or travel davidw Basketball 6 Thu Feb 07, 2002 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1