BillyMac |
Sat Apr 25, 2009 09:37am |
It's Tough Being A Member Of The Mythbusters ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
(Post 597749)
I don't know the NBA Rule. But, according to the author, he states, in a split second the ref must determine: a) were the defender's feet set, b) was he outside the court's semicircle, c) who initiated contact, and d) does the contact merit a call at all?
|
grunewar: Thanks for your research. If the NBA charge rule is the same as the NFHS charge rule, this scares me, as it perpetuates the myth that the defender's feet must be "set". Sports Illustrated is a major publication that is read, I'm sure, by many high school players, coaches, and fans. Even if the NBA charge rule is not the same as the NFHS charge rule, the article does not make that distinction, and, again, the myth will continue.
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3369/...0e723e77_m.jpg
|