![]() |
Beginning a dribble with two hands
A colleague of mine at a post season meeting asked this question of a respected official:
"Is a 'power dribble' a legal move? I have been told that a dribble starts when the ball is pushed down with one hand so I believe starting with two hands is illegal." For those who may not know (some at the meeting didn't), a power dribble is a two handed, one dribble action usually done by a post to gather themselves during a drop step before he/she lays it in. I don't have my book on me, but does it say anywhere that starting a dribble with two hands is illegal? Seems silly to me if it is and I don't think I would ever have the fortitude to call a good power dribble a violation for that reason. |
Legal. And you may continue a dribble started with two hands with one hand thereafter. :)
|
Nothing in the rulebook that says a player cannot start a dribble with two hands. A dribble can end when touching both hands simultaneously, but a single dribble is OK as long as you catch the ball.
Peace |
There is no prohibition in the rules about starting a dribble with both hands. Once the dribble has started, touching it with both hands ends that dribble. So the "power dribble" is only a one-dribble technique - not becuase the dribble is started by pushing the ball to the floor with both hands, but because they catch it with both hands after the one bounce.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Obviously they never say Darryl Dawkins play.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-15-1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm. |