The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   preventing the opponent from saving the ball? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52682-preventing-opponent-saving-ball.html)

canuckrefguy Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 593662)
What if B1 is in front and moves his leg and A1 trips and ends up falling? :D

B*stard. :D

ysong Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 593736)
To me this is not much different than boxing out on a rebound. It could be based on how the ball started to go out of bounds. If the players are not displacing each other, personally I do not see anything illegal. This is not in the tradition of a screen and we do not consider a box out to be illegal even when there is contact.

Peace

So the mere fact that B1 moves with A1 while keeps body contact and blocks A1's path does not make the block illegal.

I think I am stuck because I'd like B1 to play the ball instead of the player's body for the loose ball in this case.

Thanks to all who responded. I am all set with this one. Have a good weekend!

ysong

Raymond Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ysong (Post 593850)
So the mere fact that B1 moves with A1 while keeps body contact and blocks A1's path does not make the block illegal.

I think I am stuck because I'd like B1 to play the ball instead of the player's body for the loose ball in this case.

Thanks to all who responded. I am all set with this one. Have a good weekend!

ysong

But isn't A1 also moving with B1 after making contact?

Adam Fri Apr 03, 2009 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ysong (Post 593850)
So the mere fact that B1 moves with A1 while keeps body contact and blocks A1's path does not make the block illegal.

I think I am stuck because I'd like B1 to play the ball instead of the player's body for the loose ball in this case.

Thanks to all who responded. I am all set with this one. Have a good weekend!

ysong

I'd like both teams to keep shooting 3 point shots and make them so I don't have to call any fouls. Ref what they do, not what you would prefer they do.

BktBallRef Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ysong (Post 593731)
Ok, here is the scenario in a thought experiment:

B1 steps into A1's path when A1 is trying to save the ball and minor contact occurs. then A1 tries to go around B1, but B1 moves side way with A1 while still in contact with A1, keeps blocking A1's path.

Legal or not? if not legal, what is the rule basis?

Thanks.

Partner, I don't know what you're looking for. I addressed this situation earlier.

"He can't extend his arms/legs or otherwise move into A1's path if he's beside him. "


Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 593758)
Legal. The contact is incidental unless it actually physically prevents A1 from getting to where he wants to go.

Adam, the kid said "...but B1 moves side way with A1 while still in contact with A1, keeps blocking A1's path." When you maintain contact and continue blocking someone's path, you're keeping him "from getting to where he wants to go."

Adam Sat Apr 04, 2009 05:43pm

Guess you have to see it. You're right, if the contact is preventing A1 from getting past, then it's a foul.

ysong Sat Apr 04, 2009 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 594102)
Guess you have to see it. You're right, if the contact is preventing A1 from getting past, then it's a foul.

Oops!

Glad I am not alone wanting to call it a foul. But what is the rule basis for calling it illegal? (Like I said, I failed to find any support from the rulebook.)

Thanks.

bob jenkins Sat Apr 04, 2009 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 594102)
Guess you have to see it. You're right, if the contact is preventing A1 from getting past, then it's a foul.


And if it prevents A1 from getting the ball.

That said, all the benefit goes to team B (by officiating standard).

bob jenkins Sat Apr 04, 2009 07:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ysong (Post 594105)
Oops!

Glad I am not alone wanting to call it a foul. But what is the rule basis for calling it illegal? (Like I said, I failed to find any support from the rulebook.)

Thanks.


Illegal screen

ysong Sat Apr 04, 2009 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 594113)
Illegal screen

Oh well, I thought screen did not apply in this case, since it was the defense side who was doing the moving and blocking...

Then what is the difference between this play and the defense boxing out the offense?

Thanks.

hoopguy Mon Apr 06, 2009 07:49am

careful about this call
 
Girls AAU game yesterday. Pretty standard situation basically what the op is about. Shot goes up and is an air ball, a1 boxing b1 as ball bounces inbounds and is heading out of bounds. b1 tries to go around a1 and a1 stays with box out. ref calls holding foul on a1 doing the box out. a1's coach goes ballistic gets 1 T then keeps up his yelling and gets T number 2 and gets tossed. Fans are now all mad and giving the ref hard time. Ref explains to fans that player a1 had arms behind and was holding. Fans and coach(before he was tossed) who do not know rules say 'that's how we coach them to box out!!'.

Long story but my point is.... Ref probably made correct call. Definitely made correct decisions after whistle with T's. But... If he does not blow whistle nobody on either team will be upset. This play happens all the time and is normally not called. Probably a lot easier to let it go and move on with the game. But of course that is why we get paid the big buck$!!!

ysong Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 594272)
Ref explains to fans that player a1 had arms behind and was holding.

Thanks for the response.

It sounds like the ref called it because the arms were involved. Are you implying that if no arms, no twisting or bending body involved, the ref would not have called it a foul? In other words, do you believe a *defense* player is entiled by the rules to move with the opponent while keeps body contact and blocks the opponent's path?

Thanks!

Adam Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ysong (Post 594130)
Oh well, I thought screen did not apply in this case, since it was the defense side who was doing the moving and blocking...

Then what is the difference between this play and the defense boxing out the offense?

Thanks.

It's exactly the same.

Adam Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 594272)
Long story but my point is.... Ref probably made correct call. Definitely made correct decisions after whistle with T's. But... If he does not blow whistle nobody on either team will be upset. This play happens all the time and is normally not called. Probably a lot easier to let it go and move on with the game. But of course that is why we get paid the big buck$!!!

Bull, this needs to be called, especially if she's reaching behind and holding. Don't take the chicken sh1t way out.

ysong Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 594328)
It's exactly the same.

So you do NOT believe a *defense* player is entiled by the rules to move with the opponent while keeps body contact and blocks the opponent's path, do I understand you correctly?

Also, I assume you believe "illegal screen" applys equally to both defense side and offense side, correct? (somehow I thought it only applied to offense side.)

Then, it seems very hard for a defense player to *keep* boxing out an opponent without committing a foul.

Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1