The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You put it down, wrong team picks it up (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52516-you-put-down-wrong-team-picks-up.html)

BayStateRef Tue Mar 24, 2009 07:25pm

You put it down, wrong team picks it up
 
Kids travel playoffs (7th grade).

Following a time-out, the offensive team is slow to break the huddle, while the defensive team is on the court. The official puts the ball on the floor and starts the 5-second count. One of the defensive players, who clearly is not sure what is gong on, goes out-of-bounds and picks up the ball. Now what?

rlarry Tue Mar 24, 2009 07:45pm

Under Fed rules you can blow your whistle and make it right as long as the throw in has not legally ended.

Raymond Tue Mar 24, 2009 08:47pm

One piece of advice I've received from a retired D1 official is that whenever you place the ball down on a throw-in is to call out the color of the team who should be throwing it in.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Mar 24, 2009 08:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rlarry (Post 591104)
Under Fed rules you can blow your whistle and make it right as long as the throw in has not legally ended.


rlarry:

Play #1: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. The administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by bouncing the ball to A1 and A1 catches the ball. B1, who is guarding A1, steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball out of A1's hands.

Play #2: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. Team A does not leave its huddle after the timeout ends and the administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by placing the ball on the floor. B1 steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball.

What is the difference between Play #1 and Play #2.

MTD, Sr.

LDUB Tue Mar 24, 2009 08:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rlarry (Post 591104)
Under Fed rules you can blow your whistle and make it right as long as the throw in has not legally ended.

The ball becomes live and the throw in begins when the official uses the RPP procedure and sets the ball on the ground; at that time it is at the disposal of team A. That is a different situation than an official by mistake giving the ball to team B.

BillyMac Tue Mar 24, 2009 09:04pm

Oh No You're Not ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 591109)
One piece of advice I've received from a retired D1 official is that whenever you place the ball down on a throw-in is to call out the color of the team who should be throwing it in.

And be prepared to body block any player from the wrong team who attempts to step out of bounds and pick up the ball.

BillyMac Tue Mar 24, 2009 09:06pm

Huh ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 591110)
The administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by placing the ball on the floor. B1 steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball out of A1's hands.

How did the ball get from the floor into A1's hands?

Nevadaref Tue Mar 24, 2009 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 591103)
Kids travel playoffs (7th grade).

Following a time-out, the offensive team is slow to break the huddle, while the defensive team is on the court. The official puts the ball on the floor and starts the 5-second count. One of the defensive players, who clearly is not sure what is gong on, goes out-of-bounds and picks up the ball. Now what?

2008-09 NFHS Basketball Case Book
*7.5.1 SITUATION B: Team A does not break the huddle after the second horn
for a 60-second time-out. The official puts the ball down at the designated spot
and begins the five-second count. The administering official is between four and
five on the count when Team B reaches over the boundary and grabs the ball.
RULING: Delay-of-game warning on Team B for reaching across the plane. No
Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical
foul would not be assessed. (9-2 Penalty 3)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 591110)
rlarry:

Play #1: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. The administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by bouncing the ball to A1 and A1 catches the ball. B1, who is guarding A1, steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball out of A1's hands.

Pla #2: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. Team A does not leave its huddle after the timeout ends and the administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by placing the ball on the floor. B1 steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball out of A1's hands.

What is the difference between Play #1 and Play #2.

MTD, Sr.

"No Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in" as stated in the above case play. :D
It is a new ruling for this year, so perhaps you just learned something new! ;)

BayStateRef Tue Mar 24, 2009 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 591120)
It is a new ruling for this year, so perhaps you just learned something new!

Thanks. My 08-09 book is in my bag...not by the computer.

My partner was the administering official. As soon as the wrong player picked up the ball, he blew the whistle and took the ball back. But he did not issue the warning.

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Mar 25, 2009 07:49am

Reading the OP and the case play, I don't think we really have a definitive answer. This is a case of where the B player went OOB and picked up the ball. The case play only says what to do when they reach through the boundary and pick it up. What about if she comes OOB without reaching through the boundary, and picks up the ball? You can't issue a warning there because she's not reaching through the boundary per se. I'll just sit back with my popcorn and listen to the comments fly.

bob jenkins Wed Mar 25, 2009 07:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 591181)
Reading the OP and the case play, I don't think we really have a definitive answer. This is a case of where the B player went OOB and picked up the ball. The case play only says what to do when they reach through the boundary and pick it up. What about if she comes OOB without reaching through the boundary, and picks up the ball? You can't issue a warning there because she's not reaching through the boundary per se. I'll just sit back with my popcorn and listen to the comments fly.

So you think there's a difference between "reaching through" the boundary and "crossing" the boundary?

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 25, 2009 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 591103)
Kids travel playoffs (7th grade).

Following a time-out, the offensive team is slow to break the huddle, while the defensive team is on the court. The official puts the ball on the floor and starts the 5-second count. One of the defensive players, who clearly is not sure what is gong on, goes out-of-bounds and picks up the ball. Now what?

Delay of game warning. There shouldn't be a T because the ball wasn't in A's possession.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 25, 2009 08:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 591117)
How did the ball get from the floor into A1's hands?


I did not edit my cutting and pasting. I will edit my OP immediately.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 25, 2009 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 591120)
2008-09 NFHS Basketball Case Book
*7.5.1 SITUATION B: Team A does not break the huddle after the second horn
for a 60-second time-out. The official puts the ball down at the designated spot
and begins the five-second count. The administering official is between four and
five on the count when Team B reaches over the boundary and grabs the ball.
RULING: Delay-of-game warning on Team B for reaching across the plane. No
Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in; therefore, a technical
foul would not be assessed. (9-2 Penalty 3)


"No Team A member ever possessed the ball for the throw-in" as stated in the above case play. :D
It is a new ruling for this year, so perhaps you just learned something new! ;)


Nevada:

First, I went back to my OP and edited it so it made sense. Second, I am getting old and senile. I really do not like the ruling in NFHS Casebook Play 7.5.1 SITUATION B. Physical possession of the ball has nothing to do with the play. I have had this situation occur in the past (it has been a few years since the last time it happened; I even had in occur in a girls' varsity game) and each time I issued a team warning for delay of game if one had not been given and charged the player with a TF for delay of game. Whether B1 grabs the ball out of A1's hands or picks the ball up off of the floor B1's action is a delay of game that prevents Team A from completing or attempting to make a throw-in. This is just another case of an interpretation made by people who do not know the rules. :(

MTD, Sr.

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Mar 25, 2009 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 591182)
So you think there's a difference between "reaching through" the boundary and "crossing" the boundary?

Reading the OP, I see a distinct difference in the action. That's why I'm throwing the idea between the two out there and see what everyone has to say. There is no case play for what happened in the OP, and the case play that has been presented doesn't seem to fit the OP. I know Mark makes a good case for the warning because of the prevention of A's ability to make the throw-in, and I would almost go along with that thought process. The OP and the lack of case play basically brings into play some thought process on our part.

Old_School Wed Mar 25, 2009 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 591192)
Nevada:

This is just another case of an interpretation made by people who do not know the rules.

No, it was another case of <b>you</b> not knowing the rule until Nevada clued you in. And now that you (hopefully) do know it, (hopefully) you will now follow it if the situation ever does come up- whether you happen to like or agree with the interpretation.

Adam Wed Mar 25, 2009 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old_School (Post 591211)
No, it was another case of <b>you</b> not knowing the rule until Nevada clued you in. And now that you (hopefully) do know it, (hopefully) you will now follow it if the situation ever does come up- whether you happen to like or agree with the interpretation.

Wow. Are you serious? "Another case" of MTD not knowing the rule? You got another one, highhorse?

Texas Aggie Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:36am

Quote:

Physical possession of the ball has nothing to do with the play.
You might want to clarify this statement since the rule in question says, "touches...the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate..."

You might have a T on this play if its the second warning. I had this happen once years ago. You HAVE to prevent the defensive player from coming to get the ball. I always say, "this is NOT your ball; don't touch it."

JugglingReferee Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 591248)
You might want to clarify this statement since the rule in question says, "touches...the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate..."

You might have a T on this play if its the second warning. I had this happen once years ago. You HAVE to prevent the defensive player from coming to get the ball. I always say, "this is NOT your ball; don't touch it."

What is the consequence of not being a preventative official in this case?

Secondly, there is no "second warning". There is one warning only, and then by rule, if it happens again, it is a T.

WreckRef Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 591110)
rlarry:

Play #1: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. The administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by bouncing the ball to A1 and A1 catches the ball. B1, who is guarding A1, steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball out of A1's hands.

Play #2: Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a timeout. Team A does not leave its huddle after the timeout ends and the administering official has placed the ball at A1's disposable by placing the ball on the floor. B1 steps out-of-bounds and grabs the ball.

What is the difference between Play #1 and Play #2.

MTD, Sr.

There is no difference. Isn't the ball at A's disposal once the RPP begins? So whether B1 reaches across the plane or steps OOB to get the ball, it's a warning if it's the 1st violation or TF if it's the 2nd.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Old_School (Post 591211)
No, it was another case of <b>you</b> not knowing the rule until Nevada clued you in. And now that you (hopefully) do know it, (hopefully) you will now follow it if the situation ever does come up- whether you happen to like or agree with the interpretation.


OS:

Noooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has been a long year (believe me it has and it is still not over yet, come to think of it the basketball season never ends), and it is a new interpretation that was added to the NFHS Casebook this school year that I forgot. Plus, as I stated in my post that I have not had this situation happen in a game in a number of years. And that based upon the rules, I handled it correctly (in my humble opinion). And based upon my number of years as a student of the rules of the game, the interpretation can not be supported by rule.

NFHS R9-S2, Penalty 3 specifically specifies a ball that is possession of the thrower, and yes the ball is not in possession of the thrower in the play being discussed, BUT none of the penalties in NFHS R9-S2 cover the play being discussed and it is my humble opinion that hanging one's hat on the "while in the possession of the thrower" clause is a very flimsy position to take in this play.

And of course if you are a reincarnation of our group's favorite Old School, then you have never been one for backing up a ruling with rule support.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WreckRef (Post 591270)
There is no difference. Isn't the ball at A's disposal once the RPP begins? So whether B1 reaches across the plane or steps OOB to get the ball, it's a warning if it's the 1st violation or TF if it's the 2nd.


WreckRef:

My question was a rhetorical question and you and I are on the same page and wavelength.

MTD, Sr.

LDUB Wed Mar 25, 2009 02:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch (Post 591207)
Reading the OP, I see a distinct difference in the action. That's why I'm throwing the idea between the two out there and see what everyone has to say. There is no case play for what happened in the OP, and the case play that has been presented doesn't seem to fit the OP. I know Mark makes a good case for the warning because of the prevention of A's ability to make the throw-in, and I would almost go along with that thought process. The OP and the lack of case play basically brings into play some thought process on our part.

The violation is for B having any part of their body through the plane; it has nothing to do with reaching through. Therefore the violation occurs when B walks out of bounds to pick up the ball.

WhistlesAndStripes Wed Mar 25, 2009 03:57pm

I actually had this exact scenario play out this year in a girls JV game. Partner was administering the throw-in. A was late coming back to the floor. Once he put it down and blew his whistle, A came running over to get it. Be then ALSO ran for the ball, and got there first and threw it in. Partner blew his whistle and then looked at me with one of those "What do we have here?" looks. I just turned to the table and issued a warning for delay because it felt like the right thing to do. And, given the book citations in this thread, sounds like we got it right. I forgot to go back and confirm later what the right thing to do was.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1