The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NBA "first to touch" rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52385-nba-first-touch-rule.html)

Victoria Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:29am

NBA "first to touch" rule
 
If a non dribbling offensive player voluntarily goes out of bounds then reestablishes position inbounds can that player be the first to touch a pass from teammate? In reading the official NBA rulebook, I could not find answer to this EXACT situation. I am looking for NBA ruling only. Thanks

btaylor64 Wed Mar 18, 2009 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Victoria (Post 589310)
If a non dribbling offensive player voluntarily goes out of bounds then reestablishes position inbounds can that player be the first to touch a pass from teammate? In reading the official NBA rulebook, I could not find answer to this EXACT situation. I am looking for NBA ruling only. Thanks

yes as long as he re-establishes position, but that is only if he is a non dribbler.

justacoach Wed Mar 18, 2009 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 589313)
yes as long as he re-establishes position, but that is only if he is a non dribbler.

Perhaps you could elucidate the requirements as to reestablishing position for NBA purposes

Mark Padgett Wed Mar 18, 2009 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 589463)
Perhaps you could elucidate the requirements as to reestablishing position for NBA purposes

In the NBE, a player must have at least one endorsement inbounds before touching the ball.

btaylor64 Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 589469)
In the NBE, a player must have at least one endorsement inbounds before touching the ball.

That sounds about right. haha

no but he is right if he is referring to his shoe as the "endorsement". all you need is one sneaker down with nothing touching out of bounds to be established.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 589520)
That sounds about right. haha

no but he is right if he is referring to his shoe as the "endorsement". all you need is one sneaker down with nothing touching out of bounds to be established.

Does rule really specify that one FOOT must return inbounds?

Just to be clear, are you saying that diving back in and landing on one's backside, but not having either foot touch the inbounds area of the court isn't okay?

I seriously doubt that you have correctly described the details of the rule.

btaylor64 Thu Mar 19, 2009 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 589528)
Does rule really specify that one FOOT must return inbounds?

Just to be clear, are you saying that diving back in and landing on one's backside, but not having either foot touch the inbounds area of the court isn't okay?

I seriously doubt that you have correctly described the details of the rule.

well as i stated earlier, he has "re-establish" himself and that just means not being out of bounds and not being in the air when you touch the ball.

justacoach Thu Mar 19, 2009 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 589529)
well as i stated earlier, he has "re-establish" himself and that just means not being out of bounds and not being in the air when you touch the ball.

Methinks a person, such as yourself, with profound NBA rules knowledge can do better than this. Wanna provide an appropriate NBA rules cite?

Adam Thu Mar 19, 2009 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64 (Post 589529)
well as i stated earlier, he has "re-establish" himself and that just means not being out of bounds and not being in the air when you touch the ball.

The officials here and most of the coaches understand what you mean, but you could not have possibly meant what you wrote.

btaylor64 Thu Mar 19, 2009 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justacoach (Post 589532)
Methinks a person, such as yourself, with profound NBA rules knowledge can do better than this. Wanna provide an appropriate NBA rules cite?

2008-2009 NBA Casebook Play 246:

During the course of play, Player A1 leaves the playing court and is out-of-bounds. He leaps from out-of-bounds (never establishing himself within the playing court area), touches a loose ball and then lands on the court. Is this legal?

Illegal. Player A1 must establish himself on the playing court before he is allowed to touch the ball. With Player A1 still in the air and coming from out-of-bounds, he is still considered to be out-of-bounds.

Rule 8 - Section I



Is this good enough?

Mark Padgett Thu Mar 19, 2009 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 589528)
Just to be clear, are you saying that diving back in and landing on one's backside, but not having either foot touch the inbounds area of the court isn't okay?

As long as the endorsement on the backside of the uniform is adidass. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1