The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   SEC tourney (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52291-sec-tourney.html)

eyezen Sun Mar 15, 2009 01:50pm

SEC tourney
 
Now watching SEC tourney...more competitive (not necessarily better) game.

About 8min to go second half, Miss State grabs rebound, walks up court, 10 sec called.

Lunquist(sic) "Timeout Tennessee. Or was it? I think it was a warning."

Oh brother.

budjones05 Sun Mar 15, 2009 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 588496)
Now watching SEC tourney...more competitive (not necessarily better) game.

About 8min to go second half, Miss State grabs rebound, walks up court, 10 sec called.

Lunquist(sic) "Timeout Tennessee. Or was it? I think it was a warning."

Oh brother.

I can't get it in here in central missouri

bas2456 Sun Mar 15, 2009 01:58pm

So that's what that was...I couldn't figure out why Tenn. got the ball back

Rich Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:16pm

I've never seen a crew fall apart so spectacularly in the last minute of a game:

(1) Phantom blocking foul on Tennessee at one end
(2) L calls travel, T calls block at the other end. T wins, it was a travel first, and it seemed pretty obvious, even in real time.
(3) Tennessee asks for a timeout just before the 5 second call, Sirmons calls a 5 second violation.

All in the last minute of the game.

And both teams are trying to give the game away, too.

bas2456 Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:16pm

How about that 5 second call...think they got the timeout in there?

grunewar Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:16pm

Thoughts on the 5 sec count with 9.6 secs left?

Hey, you stole my thunder!

grunewar Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:18pm

What a bizzare ending in so many ways!

Clock problems abound.....

Rich Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:19pm

Two live balls now with a clock not starting. STILL at 9.3 seconds.

eyezen Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:20pm

Agree. This is strange. 3 plays in a row the clock didn't roll.

grunewar Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:21pm

Ain't Bruce Pearl a hoot to watch though?

WreckRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 588508)
Two live balls now with a clock not starting. STILL at 9.3 seconds.

3 live balls now where the clock has not started. Just curious as to who is supposed to start the clock? Administering official, clock operator?

Situations:

1. Ball inbounded off defenders leg, clock does not move from 9.6 seconds. Clock adjusted by officials to 9.3 seconds.

2. Ball inbounded to Miss St., catches, steps out of bounds, still 9.3 seconds.

3. Ball inbounded by Tenn., passed from A2 back to inbounder then stolen by Miss. St who then steps out of bounds, clock still at 9.3 seconds.

HoopsRefJunior Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:27pm

2009-2010 schedules for all SEC officials (except 3) just got better.

Rich Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoopsRefJunior (Post 588515)
2009-2010 schedules for all SEC officials (except 3) just got better.

I tell ya, the lead gets a travel correctly and the trail, who had just administered the inbound, overrules him from near the division line when the contact would actually be facing the lead.

Anyway, as a Tennessee alum (grad school), it doesn't surprise me Tennessee lost. They always make bad decisions at the end of games.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 588505)
Thoughts on the 5 sec count with 9.6 secs left?

Hey, you stole my thunder!

It was 5 seconds but the official only gave 4 visible counts. :(

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HoopsRefJunior (Post 588515)
2009-2010 schedules for all SEC officials (except 3) just got better.

I don't know that that's the case. Tony Greene was the R was not a factor in any of those calls.

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588519)
It was 5 seconds but the official only gave 4 visible counts. :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588520)
I don't know that that's the case. Tony Greene was the R was not a factor in any of those calls.

I noticed that too on the replay.

Also looked like the thrower asked for a TO before the last chop.

The phantom block call and the overruled travel were unfortunate.

But both teams had major brain cramps near the end as well. I'd say the winner feels pretty lucky right now.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 588516)
I tell ya, the lead gets a travel correctly and the trail, who had just administered the inbound, overrules him from near the division line when the contact would actually be facing the lead.

Doesn't the trail have the play as it's leaving his area, headed toward the basket?

Rich Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588522)
Doesn't the trail have the play as it's leaving his area, headed toward the basket?

On a block/charge, sure. It was in the T's primary.

But the L definitely saw travel first and was clearly right. Both signaled. The T pretty much took over and went to the table without enough of a pause to talk to the L.

canuckrefguy Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588522)
Doesn't the trail have the play as it's leaving his area, headed toward the basket?

Off a throw-in, I'd say lead has a better look, given how fast everything happens.

Trail has an awfully quick transition from administering the throw-in to covering the play afterwards.

Lead, in that case, likely sees everything develop right in front of him.

My $0.02

Rich Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canuckrefguy (Post 588524)
Off a throw-in, I'd say lead has a better look, given how fast everything happens.

Trail has an awfully quick transition from administering the throw-in to covering the play afterwards.

Lead, in that case, likely sees everything develop right in front of him.

My $0.02

And I agree with this. The perception I had was that the T was a LONG way away from this play and it was, essentially, right in the L's face.

BktBallRef Sun Mar 15, 2009 02:53pm

I can't agree that the travel clearly came first. I thought it was a very difficult call with each official having an opposite angle. There was a travel but there was also a foul. Did the foul cause the travel? Very possible. Tough situation.

However, the L is the only officials who made a 5 second count while visibly swiping 4 times. :(

Juulie Downs Mon Mar 16, 2009 01:07am

So the call that we're calling the "phantom foul" by Tennesee against Miss St., okay, we all agree bad call, but what specifically did he do wrong? Looked to me like center/trail made the call, right? Wasn't he just totally straight-lined? Was lead in a position to come in and give information? Should C/T have decided "I'm not sure, so I'm not going to call it..."?

Ref Ump Welsch Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:17am

This was a good game up till the last minute or so with what everyone has discussed. I thought the crew lacked some serious communication towards the end, especially with the clock issues. It was a good learning lesson, plus a little rough for me because I was getting text messages from friends (non-officials) who were bewildered (and cussing). And this is from people who have no interest in the SEC because we live in Big 12 and Mo Valley areas. (Although, I think the interest was in hoping MSU would lose so Creighton could get in, *SOBBING*)

Larks Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:12pm

Mississippi St. v. Tennesssee - Last 6 Minutes
YouTube - Mar. 15 - Mississippi St. v. Tennesssee - Last 6 Minutes

agmattbballref Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:27pm

Question on time taken off
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WreckRef (Post 588511)
3 live balls now where the clock has not started. Just curious as to who is supposed to start the clock? Administering official, clock operator?

Situations:

1. Ball inbounded off defenders leg, clock does not move from 9.6 seconds. Clock adjusted by officials to 9.3 seconds.

2. Ball inbounded to Miss St., catches, steps out of bounds, still 9.3 seconds.

3. Ball inbounded by Tenn., passed from A2 back to inbounder then stolen by Miss. St who then steps out of bounds, clock still at 9.3 seconds.

At the point where the ball was kicked on the inbound play, the officials reset the time on the clock from 9.6 to 9.3. Since the kicking violation does not constitute a legal touch, I believe that no time should have gone off the clock in that instance. Am I wrong? I refer to the case book in the attached text....

A. R. 165. After a goal by Team B, Team A has the ball for a throw-in
from the end of the playing court from where the goal was
made.
(1) B1 kicks the ball along the sideline; or
(2) B1 kicks the ball along the end line from where the throwin
was attempted.
RULING: (1) The kick is a floor violation and the ball shall be
awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the violation
occurred.
(Rule 9-6 and 7-5.1)
(2) The floor violation of kicking the ball victimizes Team A. Consequently,
Team A shall retain the privilege to the throw-in from
anywhere along the end line.
(Rule 9-6, 7-5 and 6.a.4)
In (1) and (2), the throw-in was not legally completed since the kick
is not a legal touch. As a result, the shot clock shall not start. When
this situation occurs in the remaining 59.9 seconds of the second half
or an extra period, neither the game clock nor the shot clock shall be
started because of the violation.


Maybe I am missing something, but I noticed this along with all the other violations previously mentioned in the thread and I do believe it was the referee who went to the table in this instance and reset the game clock.

By the way, before anyone gets started, I am no troll. I simply enjoy reading rather than posting most times... I akin it to sitting at the feet of learned men and women... Thanks in advance for your feedback...

cardinalfan Mon Mar 16, 2009 12:54pm

I had to leave home with 1:15 on the clock, so I tuned in to the Vol Radio Network. The announcers made me think the referees were there only to cheat TN.
They were definitely hard on Sirmens (sp?). I got home and watched the replay, and it was an ugly mess. But not exactly the way the radio guys called it. Imagine that!

eyezen Mon Mar 16, 2009 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by agmattbballref (Post 588757)
At the point where the ball was kicked on the inbound play, the officials reset the time on the clock from 9.6 to 9.3. Since the kicking violation does not constitute a legal touch, I believe that no time should have gone off the clock in that instance. Am I wrong? I refer to the case book in the attached text....

It wasn't a kicking violation, it was an inbounds pass that went off the defenders leg, there's a difference. Did you notice that the ensuing inbounds was from the sideline where the ball went out? Had it been ruled a kick then yes your rule citation would be correct and the ball would of been inbounded at the same spot on the endline.

agmattbballref Mon Mar 16, 2009 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 588789)
It wasn't a kicking violation, it was an inbounds pass that went off the defenders leg, there's a difference. Did you notice that the ensuing inbounds was from the sideline where the ball went out? Had it been ruled a kick then yes you are correct no time should of came off and the ball would of been inbounded at the same spot on the endline.

Thanks,

I must have missed that; it certainly looked as if the defender kicked the ball; in retrospect you are probably correct. Unfortunately, I did not TVO the game; it would have been a good teaching point for new officials to analyze all aspects of the play and pick up on the dispositon of the ball for the throw-in. Thanks for the insight.

Adam Mon Mar 16, 2009 02:19pm

And in high school, you would not take the time off either way, nor would you put it back on. I believe the rule is that the clock starts on the touch (as opposed to a legal touch), so a short amount coming off would be acceptable as it is not a timer's error.

Taking it off in high school is impossible, by rule, here because there's no way you can know to take .3 seconds off.

BillyMac Mon Mar 16, 2009 08:56pm

Ever wonder why you don't ever see the headline "Psychic Wins Lottery"?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588793)
And in high school, you would not take the time off either way, nor would you put it back on. I believe the rule is that the clock starts on the touch (as opposed to a legal touch), so a short amount coming off would be acceptable as it is not a timer's error. Taking it off in high school is impossible, by rule, here because there's no way you can know to take .3 seconds off.

We've been told that on a throwinthat's kicked, time should not come off the clock, and if it did, that we're supposed to have the clock reset to what it was before the illegal touch after the throwin. We're also supposed to not chop in the clock on such a play, tough not to do, it's almost automatic.

Tonight, watching a few of my colleagues, two are NCAA Division I offcials, do a state semifinal game, a player tapped the ball on the way up on the opening jump ball. The umpire properly whistled the violation, and had the timekeeper reset the clock to 8:00, it had moved to 7:58. At first I thought, "What?", but then I realized that this was like a kicked ball on the throwin. The tap was illegal, and the clock is supposed to start on a legal tap, thus the clock gets reset .

NFHS 5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

JugglingReferee Mon Mar 16, 2009 09:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 588861)
We've been told that on a throwinthat's kicked, time should not come off the clock, and if it did, that we're supposed to have the clock reset to what it was before the illegal touch after the throwin. We're also supposed to not chop in the clock on such a play, tough not to do, it's almost automatic.

Tonight, watching a few of my colleagues, two are NCAA Division I offcials, do a state semifinal game, a player tapped the ball on the way up on the opening jump ball. The umpire properly whistled the violation, and had the timekeeper reset the clock to 8:00, it had moved to 7:58. At first I thought, "What?", but then I realized that this was like a kicked ball on the throwin. The tap was illegal, and the clock is supposed to start on a legal tap, thus the clock gets reset .

NFHS 5-9-2: If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

Discussed previously, too! http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post578440

eyezen Mon Mar 16, 2009 09:08pm

warning - thread hijak
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 588861)

Tonight, watching a few of my colleagues, two are NCAA Division I offcials, do a state semifinal game,

Is this common in your area???

BillyMac Mon Mar 16, 2009 09:15pm

Middle School Girls On Thursday, NCAA Division I Men On Friday ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 588861)
Tonight, watching a few of my colleagues, two are NCAA Division I officials, do a state semifinal game...

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 588865)
Is this common in your area???

We have about 300 officials on our local IAABO board, through which our commissioner assigns us middle school through high school varsity games, and a few AAU games in the spring. Of our 300 members, I believe that there are three that do NCAA Division I games. We also have about a dozen who do NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, and junior college games.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1