![]() |
|
|
|||
Duke-UNC Basket Interference?
Early in the second half, Danny Green (UNC) blocked Jon Scheyer's (Duke) layup. The ball had gone off the backboard but was still on its way up. Couldn't tell 100% whether or not the ball was in the cylinder, but for argument's sake, let's say it wasn't.
Did the officials make the right call here? |
|
|||
I thought that was a good call, but I didn't see the offensive interverence call. I mean, I heard the call, but I ddnt see the play. Did anyone?
OOO, Singler, two charge calls!!
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
The call was correct. And the charge calls on Singler were correct as well.
I was happy to see Coach K get told by one official to knock it off with complaining to the officiating crew after the charge calls. |
|
|||
The second one BARELY correct, IMO.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun. CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check... HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!! |
|
|||
Rule change this season
Goaltending 4-34.3. When the entire ball is above the level of the ring during a field-goal try and contacts the backboard, it is considered to be on its downward flight. In such a case, it is goaltending when that ball is touched by a player. Rationale: Makes the difficultly of judging whether or not a try contacting the backboard is on its downward flight more discernable. Commentary: It is sometimes difficult to determine during a try whether a ball that is above the level of the ring and contacts the backboard is on its downward flight. A ball on its downward flight during a field-goal try is one of the criteria for determining goaltending. This rules change eliminates the judgment of whether or not a ball that is above the level of the ring during a field-goal try and contacts the backboard is on its downward flight or not. If a try contacts the backboard above the level of the ring, it is considered to be on its downward flight. It is important to note that this rule only applies to a try. |
|
|||
How is a call NARELY correct?
![]() And which call are you talking about?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
In NCAA, once the ball comes off the backboard and has a chance to go in, it's goaltending whether it's on it's way up or down. Similiar to the NBA rule. I'm not sure the ball had a chance to go in after watching the replay but in real time, I would have called it too. In the first half, Green was called for offensive BI because he attempted to rebound the ball when it was still in the cylinder. Other calls: I thought the block/charge calls were pretty good. I thought the call on the Henderson/Hansbrough rebound situation was wrong. I would love to see what Jamie Luckey saw in the foul against Thompson on the missed FT. From the camera angle, I could understand the call but he had the opposite angle. Overall, I thought it was one of the better officiated ACC games I've seen this year. And I've seen a few.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Basket Interference? | sleebo | Basketball | 1 | Fri Jan 18, 2008 02:48pm |
Basket Interference or Not! | 9redskin4 | Basketball | 20 | Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:55pm |
Basket Interference??? | DESTRUCTO | Basketball | 12 | Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:30pm |
possible basket interference | 4thekids | Basketball | 9 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 01:10am |
Basket Interference | cford | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 02:35pm |