The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clarification needed (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52110-clarification-needed.html)

elker13 Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:10pm

Clarification needed
 
Please forgive for bringing this topic up again...I saw this happen twice last night in a Varsity Boys game I went to and I am confused by the calls of the officials.


First scenario had A1 shot a layup and missed the rim completely(airball). A1 then caught his miss and laid it back up and in. Ref called him from traveling.

Second scenario is A4 receives a pass and takes a few dribbles, he ends his dribble and he goes up for a shot, he loses the ball on the way up. The ball goes straight up in the air. A4 catches the ball and starts to dribble again. No call.

I have looked over the previous threads and seemed to confuse myself more in determining if the refs were correct in their call and no call?

Adam Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:19pm

1st one: Looks like the ref just missed the call. It happens.
2nd one: May or may not have been right. If the ref judged that the shot was released, even if it was errantly, then it was the right call.

justacoach Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:22pm

You are surely mistaken. You were actually in the friendly confines of the Bradley center watching millionaires play at basketball.
That is the only possibility of these 2 calls being correctly whistled.
Either that or there were 2 NBE refs slummin' at a HS game.

Please tell us which was the case...

elker13 Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:45pm

Well I was definately not in the Bradley Center. You will never see me at a NBA game or much less watching one. And don't get me started on NBA officiating.

williebfree Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:16am

Welcome Aboard, Elker...
 
It is nice to see more representation from WI.:)

Nevadaref Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by elker13 (Post 586131)
Please forgive for bringing this topic up again...I saw this happen twice last night in a Varsity Boys game I went to and I am confused by the calls of the officials.


First scenario had A1 shot a layup and missed the rim completely(airball). A1 then caught his miss and laid it back up and in. Ref called him from traveling.

Second scenario is A4 receives a pass and takes a few dribbles, he ends his dribble and he goes up for a shot, he loses the ball on the way up. The ball goes straight up in the air. A4 catches the ball and starts to dribble again. No call.

I have looked over the previous threads and seemed to confuse myself more in determining if the refs were correct in their call and no call?

From your description, I have the first play as legal and the second as an illegal (double) dribble violation under NFHS rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1