The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   after a fumble on a shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52106-after-fumble-shot.html)

mutantducky Fri Mar 06, 2009 08:07pm

after a fumble on a shot
 
so I already asked in an earlier thread that after a fumble on a shot you cannot dribble. I was shooting around today when I did a fadeaway and lost the ball but then caught it. Because I landed I traveled but does the fumble negate this? Also, once I land, can I pivot?

Nevadaref Fri Mar 06, 2009 08:11pm

We just had a thread on this. You have to read the entire thread to get the proper citations.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...violation.html

mutantducky Fri Mar 06, 2009 08:39pm

OK. Good to see the NCAA rule there. I've been thinking that you are allowed to recover a fumble on a shot and also if you have dribbled and then go for a shot. I actually think it is a violation in the link because A2 caused the fumble, or actually caused the loose ball. I think a fumble can only happen by a single players action. errr :confused:I don't know but to me another player on the same team contacting the ball should not allow the player who had the ball to pick it up again. the offensive team should not be rewarded for a mistake.

-------I didn't see anything about a pivot foot though? Can a player establish one after they catch the fumble. If A1 goes for a set shot then fumbles, A1 can get the ball. If A1 goes for a layup and takes a couple of steps without traveling or dribbling and jumps into the air and fumbles can they still get the ball? I assume yes on this one.

The NCAA has a different ruling.

A.R. 85. After ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a
try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball and:
(1) Recovers the fumble while airborne; or
(2) Recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles
the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?
RULING: Yes. In (1) and (2) A1 is permitted to recover the ball
but after recovering the ball is not allowed to start another dribble.
However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered
by A1, while airborne or after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to
start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and
while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after
a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.
(Rule 4-21.4.a, 4-31.2 and 9-7.1.c)
If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and
while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after
a return to the floor), he/she is permitted to start a dribble.

Nevadaref Fri Mar 06, 2009 08:49pm

Think of a player recovering his own fumble as a player receiving a pass. This holds true whether the player is airborne or not when collecting the ball.

The only element which carries forward is the dribble history. If that player has already dribbled then he doesn't get a second one if another player didn't touch the ball. Everything else, including pivoting, is legal.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1