The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Need Advice (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52016-need-advice.html)

DTQ_Blue Mon Mar 02, 2009 01:52pm

Need Advice

I'm still relatively new to basketball (but not officiating).

I've officiated other sports long enough to have a good sense of my strengths and weaknesses.

One of my biggest problem areas in basketball is I'm missing things that are happening in the paint when I'm working lead in 2 man. Yesterday I had 3 rec games (11th and 12th grade) and missed a tipped pass that went out of bounds and a deflected dribble that went out off of a foot. Both right in the paint, fairly crowded with bodies.

I do tend to stand near the baseline so I'm wondering if I'm narrowing my field of view by being too close to the players. Perhaps I could back off the b'line.

I would appreciate any suggestions for improving my ability to see the game from lead in 2 man.

I don't seem to have this problem in trail.

Thanks,

JRutledge Mon Mar 02, 2009 02:24pm

It sounds like the game is moving too fast for you right now. I do not think there is anything that you can do if you are missing a simple out of bounds violation other than not standing so close. But that is hard to tell based on what I am reading from you. I would think you just need to see more plays and get used to the speed of the game. I am a multiple sport officials too and basketball tends to move much faster and more things are going on for an extended period of time. Basketball is something that just takes time to get used to (for anyone, not just an official from another sport).

Peace

refguy Mon Mar 02, 2009 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue (Post 584585)
I'm still relatively new to basketball (but not officiating).

I've officiated other sports long enough to have a good sense of my strengths and weaknesses.