The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51964-traveling.html)

Refk Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:44am

Traveling ?
 
Working local youth tournament and talking with our Varsity coach who was helping out with officiating. He came up to me and had a question......He said he may only see it a couple more times in his career but was curious as to what the call should be. There was a scrum and A1 ends up sitting on the back of B1 (laying on the floor) and ends up with the ball. So A1 is sitting on the back of B1 with the ball trying to pass it to a team member. B1 moves which causes A1 to start to fall off but gets rid of the ball. His question was : If A1 had fallen off backwards would this have been when the travel violation should have been called or did he blow it by not calling a violation earlier ? He is our girls Varstiy coach and helps out with some youth tournaments and is always asking me questions (trying to get better)........ he actually does a pretty good job.


Thanks

Terrapins Fan Sun Mar 01, 2009 01:03pm

Interesting.

I don't know the rule for it, I hope I never see it. If I did see it, I hope A1 passes the ball before I have to make a call. Sounds like traveling is the right call, if you have to call something.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Mar 01, 2009 01:41pm

Player control foul on A1.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sun Mar 01, 2009 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 584283)
Player control foul on A1.

MTD, Sr.

Not enough information in the OP to make this determination.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Mar 01, 2009 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 584300)
Not enough information in the OP to make this determination.


Under NFHS Rules, A1 is sitting on top of B1. B1 is entitled to his position on the floor and A1 has violated B1's verticality.

MTD, Sr.

Terrapins Fan Sun Mar 01, 2009 04:09pm

And yet, B1 does not have legal guarding position.....

just another ref Sun Mar 01, 2009 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 584306)
Under NFHS Rules, A1 is sitting on top of B1. B1 is entitled to his position on the floor and A1 has violated B1's verticality.

MTD, Sr.


Just the facts. All we know from the OP is that "A1 ends up sitting on the back of B1....." This is not enough information to say it was a foul on anybody.
For all we know, B1 rolled/slid under A1 and cut his legs out from under him.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Mar 01, 2009 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 584308)
And yet, B1 does not have legal guarding position.....


A legal guarding position has nothing to do with this play. B1 legally acquired a position on the floor before A1 landed on top of him. B1 can not exercise his right to stand up because A1 is sitting on top of him.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sun Mar 01, 2009 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 584343)
A legal guarding position has nothing to do with this play.

agreed

Quote:

B1 legally acquired a position on the floor before A1 landed on top of him.
Based on the OP, there is no way you can know this.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:33pm

No preservatives added.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 584300)
Not enough information in the OP to make this determination.

"Let's go to the videotape". (Warner Wolf)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 584318)
Just the facts. All we know from the OP is that "A1 ends up sitting on the back of B1....." This is not enough information to say it was a foul on anybody.
For all we know, B1 rolled/slid under A1 and cut his legs out from under him.



B1 rolled/slid under A1 and cut his legs out from under him, then I would have a foul on B1 for blocking. :D

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 584378)
"Let's go to the videotape". (Warner Wolf)


Okay, I am not the only one who knows who Warner Wolf is.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:00pm

"Change the rule! If you can't win two games in a month, you're out of the league!"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 584394)
Okay, I am not the only one who knows who Warner Wolf is.

Sorry.

Warner Wolf - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

BktBallRef Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 584318)
Just the facts. All we know from the OP is that "A1 ends up sitting on the back of B1....." This is not enough information to say it was a foul on anybody.
For all we know, B1 rolled/slid under A1 and cut his legs out from under him.


Game, set, match to JAR. He's got you, Mark!!! :D

Nice one JAR!! http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...s/highfive.gif

just another ref Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 584404)
Game, set, match to JAR. He's got you, Mark!!! :D

Nice one JAR!! http://www.runemasterstudios.com/gra...s/highfive.gif

Thanks, it was nothing.:cool: Thought he was just gonna ignore me. Some around here do that when painted into a corner.

But we didn't answer the original question in the OP. I.........actually don't know the answer.

BillyMac Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:35pm

Is There A Blue Moon Tonight ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 584407)
I actually don't know the answer.

http://ac4.yt-thm-a04.yimg.com/image/466182f81b0c71f6

just another ref Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:42am

After further consideration, maybe I do know the answer. If we reached this point with neither player being whistled for a foul, then the contact was either ruled incidental or missed. So we proceed with the information we have. A1 is not touching the ball with any body part other than hand or foot. Therefore, unless he establishes a pivot foot and then lifts that foot and returns it to the floor, he is free to do anything: pass, shoot, start a dribble, even stand up

OHBBREF Mon Mar 02, 2009 08:06am

If you got to this point without a foul I can not see calling one because B1 moves, at the same time if B1's movement cause A1 to move - A1 is not traveling. All of the movments that would be ruled traveling are made by the player with the ball, and not forced by contact with another player, if contact forced the movement it would be a foul.
In this case since it is likely that A1's movement is caused by B1 moving you either rule on that contact which I would have to say is incidental or rule that A1 has not established a pivot point (foot) and ignore the movement.

But the questions here is how did A1 end up on B1's back going for the ball in a scrum without a foul being called in the first place.

it is my opinion that we as officials do not call all lot of the fouls that occur during these scrums, and go with the held ball instead. In reviewing films this year I cam up with 10 - 15 cases where I myself should have had foul calls before the held ball was called as there was clearly a push or hack in the scrum that should have been called first.
That is something I plan to work on over the off season this year.

Refk Mon Mar 02, 2009 09:38am

I'm not sure how the kids ended up on top of each other , as you stated I think we are all guilty of not calling fouls in the scrums ............ I appreciate the feedback and am going to pass it on to our coach this morning.


Thanks again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1