The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 04:55pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by snorman75 View Post
Doing a 6th grade tournament, player commits their 5th foul and then mouths off and gets a T. I always fall back on NCAA rules to if not in league rules.

We shoot 2 and go back to point of interruption.

Well my question is how do you score it in the book? I had scorer count both fouls as team and add the 6th personal foul to the player in the book, so her count would show all team fouls.

Correct?
I've actually seen this happen at least three times in college basketball. Player picks up foul #5 and then receives a T before the officials can report the original foul. Since this happens before the head coach is notified, the T goes against the person and creates a seldom-seen 6th player foul.

{aside} In a tournament under a modified combination of College & NBA rules, I saw a player foul out with 6 fouls and pick up a T right after, so he was disqualified with 7 fouls. {/aside}

LDUB has the NFHS procedure for handling this situation, so I won't parrot it here.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball

Last edited by Stat-Man; Sun Mar 01, 2009 at 11:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 01, 2009, 09:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
I've actually seen this happen at least three times in college basketball. Player picks up foul #5 and then receives a T before the officials can report the original foul. Since this happens before the head coach is notified, the T goes against the person and creates a seldome-seen 6th player foul.
Whether or not the player is bench personnel is only relevant to whether the coach gets an indirect. Either way, the player will get his 6th foul.

It could also happen if the officials aren't notified of the 5th, and play continues giving the fouling player an opportunity to commit another personal foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 02, 2009, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 131
Yes, yes and yes

Yes, player picked up T, before 5th foul was even reported, never mind coach told.

Yes, we did POI, youth rules do not say what to fall back on, so since most of us do girls HS in NY we fall back on NCAA.

and Yes, we did count is at the players 6th team.


thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Personal Foul in MCAC game KJUmp Basketball 21 Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:46am
8th Grade girls A game - 3rd Report SamIAm Basketball 7 Sat Jan 31, 2009 01:20pm
Another 8th Grade girls A game SamIAm Basketball 6 Fri Dec 19, 2008 06:47pm
Dead ball personal foul in NCAA game Nevadaref Basketball 28 Fri Nov 16, 2007 03:38pm
Good grief! 3rd grade game! Mark Padgett Basketball 8 Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1