The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Possesson arrow (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51898-possesson-arrow.html)

bas2456 Wed Feb 25, 2009 07:20pm

Possesson arrow
 
Team A is awarded possession after a held ball. While A is trying to inbound, a foul is called off the ball. The ball is never actually inbounded. The foul was team B's 7th of the half, so A is shooting 1 and 1. Does the arrow change? I think yes, but can someone confirm?

grunewar Wed Feb 25, 2009 07:24pm

I believe the possession arrow is not reversed for a foul during a dead ball, just for a violation by the throw-in team.

6.4.5 Sit A.

bas2456 Wed Feb 25, 2009 07:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 583256)
I believe the possession arrow is not reversed for a foul during a dead ball, just for a violation by the throw-in team.

6.4.5 Sit A.

This happened during the Indiana-Northwestern game, and IU kept the arrow. I'm assuming then that Fed and NCAA rules are in agreement here?

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 25, 2009 08:25pm

Fed
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 583255)
Team A is awarded possession after a held ball. While A is trying to inbound, a foul is called off the ball. The ball is never actually inbounded. The foul was team B's 7th of the half, so A is shooting 1 and 1. Does the arrow change? I think yes, but can someone confirm?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 583262)
This happened during the Indiana-Northwestern game, and IU kept the arrow. I'm assuming then that Fed and NCAA rules are in agreement here?

The arrow is reversed when a throw-in ends.

A throw-in ENDS when:
  • the ball is legally touched inbounds, OR
  • the throwing-in team violates
A foul by either team results in either shots for the bonus or a throw-in due to the foul. The arrow is no longer part of the equation. A kick-ball violation by the defense causes a throw-in for the violation, and the arrow is no longer part of the equation.

shishstripes Wed Feb 25, 2009 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 583255)
Team A is awarded possession after a held ball. While A is trying to inbound, a foul is called off the ball. The ball is never actually inbounded. The foul was team B's 7th of the half, so A is shooting 1 and 1. Does the arrow change? I think yes, but can someone confirm?

The opponent of the thrower offended, the AP throw-in did not end. Do not change the arrow. If the opponent commits a foul or violation before the throw-in is legally touched inbounds, do not change the arrow.

The new throw-in after a foul (if not in bonus) or a violation are for the foul or violation respectively, not arrow.

williebfree Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:29pm

Correct me if I am wrong....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 583284)
The opponent of the thrower offended, the AP throw-in did not end. Do not change the arrow. If the opponent commits a foul or violation before the throw-in is legally touched inbounds, do not change the arrow.

The new throw-in after a foul (if not in bonus) or a violation are for the foul or violation respectively, not arrow.

Don't have rulebook at home tonight, a foul by EITHER TEAM does not change the arrow, because the TI was interupted (therefore not completed).

Yes? Juggling eluded to it in the end of his post.

Scratch85 Thu Feb 26, 2009 12:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by williebfree (Post 583303)
Don't have rulebook at home tonight, a foul by EITHER TEAM does not change the arrow, because the TI was interupted (therefore not completed).

Yes? Juggling eluded to it in the end of his post.

Correct, 6.4.5 Sit(A) COMMENT


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1