The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping the backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51893-slapping-backboard.html)

bas2456 Wed Feb 25, 2009 02:25pm

Slapping the backboard
 
When does slapping the backboard constitute basket interference?

GoodwillRef Wed Feb 25, 2009 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 583157)
When does slapping the backboard constitute basket interference?

Never.

Raymond Wed Feb 25, 2009 03:26pm

Come on Bas, you've been lurking around here long enough to know the answer to that one.

bas2456 Wed Feb 25, 2009 03:35pm

Well I wasn't sure on the answer, because I could see the justification for having it be basket interference

GoodwillRef Wed Feb 25, 2009 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 583194)
Well I wasn't sure on the answer, because I could see the justification for having it be basket interference

Justified yes...rules backing...no.

bas2456 Wed Feb 25, 2009 03:40pm

Got ya. Thanks for the help!

BillyMac Wed Feb 25, 2009 07:54pm

In case of emergency, call 911.
 
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

shishstripes Wed Feb 25, 2009 09:29pm

As Billy said, if they slap the backboard after attempting to block the shot, nothing. But if they are intentionally slapping the backboard to draw attention to themselves or frustration, give them a T.

For discussion, when would you call the T?

I see an offensive player who shoots the ball, then slaps the backboard attempting to draw attention to themselves. T

I see a defensive player who slaps the other side of the backboard (i.e. shot on left, player slaps the right) as frustration or something else. T

Any other times?

walter Thu Feb 26, 2009 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shishstripes (Post 583287)
As Billy said, if they slap the backboard after attempting to block the shot, nothing. But if they are intentionally slapping the backboard to draw attention to themselves or frustration, give them a T.

For discussion, when would you call the T?

I see an offensive player who shoots the ball, then slaps the backboard attempting to draw attention to themselves. T

I see a defensive player who slaps the other side of the backboard (i.e. shot on left, player slaps the right) as frustration or something else. T

Any other times?

Had this one the other night, A1 dunks the ball with two hands and then slaps the board on his way down. Whack! I think it happened in a game on tv not too long ago as well.

TravelinMan Thu Feb 26, 2009 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by walter (Post 583519)
Had this one the other night, A1 dunks the ball with two hands and then slaps the board on his way down. Whack! I think it happened in a game on tv not too long ago as well.

Providence - Louisville. Does everybody agree this should be a T?

SmokeEater Thu Feb 26, 2009 02:20pm

I think it would have to be a pretty loud slap to warrant a T. Remember it says may be assessed a T. So IMO, HTBT and see what precipitated the slap and how the play has been throughout the game.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 26, 2009 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TravelinMan (Post 583523)
Providence - Louisville. Does everybody agree this should be a T?

By rule, yes. It does take some celebration out of the game, though.

TravelinMan Thu Feb 26, 2009 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 583535)
By rule, yes. It does take some celebration out of the game, though.

Doesn't rule state "MAY assess". Play precipitated after Providence went without a field goal for 9 minutes in 2nd half, missed numerous chippies and game was out of reach. It was done by probably the most well-behaved kid on the team, so you know how frustrated he was. Personally, I wouldn't have T'ed him up. On the previous play, PC Coach got t'ed up when he didn't get timeout he asked for when PG was being pressured. PC lost the ball on the play. PC was up by 1 at half-time and lost by 18.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 26, 2009 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TravelinMan (Post 583541)
Doesn't rule state "MAY assess". Play precipitated after Providence went without a field goal for 9 minutes in 2nd half, missed numerous chippies and game was out of reach. It was done by probably the most well-behaved kid on the team, so you know how frustrated he was. Personally, I wouldn't have T'ed him up. On the previous play, PC Coach got t'ed up when he didn't get timeout he asked for when PG was being pressured. PC lost the ball on the play. PC was up by 1 at half-time and lost by 18.

I can see passing on the T for the reasons you mentioned. However, we all know that slapping the bb after a basket is done for a look-at-me reason. This, afaik, is what rules makers want penalized.

walter Thu Feb 26, 2009 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 583534)
I think it would have to be a pretty loud slap to warrant a T. Remember it says may be assessed a T. So IMO, HTBT and see what precipitated the slap and how the play has been throughout the game.


The kid in my game was simply showing off and slapped it with force. It was a pretty easy call.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1