The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   2 shots & the ball each time? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51876-2-shots-ball-each-time.html)

UNH IM Ref Tue Feb 24, 2009 04:15pm

2 shots & the ball each time?
 
My book says that a technical foul awards 2 shots and the ball to the opponent of the infracting team. Is there an exception here for dead-ball technicals? A case would sound something like this - Team A is in possession of the ball Coach A calls timeout, A1 while walking back to the bench swears at the official. The official then awards team B 2 technical foul shots and then the ball at half court opposite table side?

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 24, 2009 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 582834)
My book says that a technical foul awards 2 shots and the ball to the opponent of the infracting team. Is there an exception here for dead-ball technicals? A case would sound something like this - Team A is in possession of the ball Coach A calls timeout, A1 while walking back to the bench swears at the official. The official then awards team B 2 technical foul shots and then the ball at half court opposite table side?

The penalty for a technical foul is always 2 free throws by any team member (player or substitute), plus a division-line throw opposite the table. No, there are not any exceptions. However, if the outcome of the game is decided, then one or both of the free throws will not take place. I'll leave it up to you to determine how that happens.

just another ref Tue Feb 24, 2009 04:22pm

Exception if there is a false double technical. Only one team can get the ball.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 24, 2009 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 582839)
exception if there is a false double technical. Only one team can get the ball.

ha!

Adam Tue Feb 24, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 582839)
Exception if there is a false double technical. Only one team can get the ball.

Another exception:
Time has expired in a quarter, but there are still free throws to be shot when the knucklehead gets a T.

deecee Tue Feb 24, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 582846)
Another exception:
Time has expired in a quarter, but there are still free throws to be shot when the knucklehead gets a T.

http://rookery2.viary.com/storagev12...b_625x1000.jpg

bob jenkins Tue Feb 24, 2009 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 582834)
My book says that a technical foul awards 2 shots and the ball to the opponent of the infracting team. Is there an exception here for dead-ball technicals? A case would sound something like this - Team A is in possession of the ball Coach A calls timeout, A1 while walking back to the bench swears at the official. The official then awards team B 2 technical foul shots and then the ball at half court opposite table side?


The rule is different if you are using NCAA rules.

shishstripes Tue Feb 24, 2009 06:23pm

Or if you have double technicals, they "offset" each other and there are no FT's and you put the ball back into play from POI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1