The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
"interesting calls"

I chalked this one up as one I'll probably (and hopefully) never see again. I am a fan (not a ref) watching a JV match. Team B has spot throw-in under their own bucket. A6, a sub, is waved in by trail. A5 being replaced, begins walking off the court. The lead official, not watching his trail (who was not giving the open handed "pause" signal to his partner), puts the ball in play as player A5 is still 15 feet from his bench on the court. Trail official calls technical for Team A having 6 players on the court. Refs don't confer, Ts are shot. Oy.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski View Post
I chalked this one up as one I'll probably (and hopefully) never see again. I am a fan (not a ref) watching a JV match. Team B has spot throw-in under their own bucket. A6, a sub, is waved in by trail. A5 being replaced, begins walking off the court. The lead official, not watching his trail (who was not giving the open handed "pause" signal to his partner), puts the ball in play as player A5 is still 15 feet from his bench on the court. Trail official calls technical for Team A having 6 players on the court. Refs don't confer, Ts are shot. Oy.

Vey...........
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski View Post
I chalked this one up as one I'll probably (and hopefully) never see again. I am a fan (not a ref) watching a JV match. Team B has spot throw-in under their own bucket. A6, a sub, is waved in by trail. A5 being replaced, begins walking off the court. The lead official, not watching his trail (who was not giving the open handed "pause" signal to his partner), puts the ball in play as player A5 is still 15 feet from his bench on the court. Trail official calls technical for Team A having 6 players on the court. Refs don't confer, Ts are shot. Oy.
Which is why they're both still working JV.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 02:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski View Post
A6, a sub, is waved in by trail. A5 being replaced, begins walking off the court. The lead official, not watching his trail, who was not giving the open handed "pause" signal to his partner, puts the ball in play as player A5 is still 15 feet from his bench on the court. Trail official calls technical for Team A having 6 players on the court.
What a mess. Three problems:

First, during a stopped clock, dead ball period, when substitutes are reporting, and replacing players, the officials should always be making eye contact with each other.

Second, the official who beckoned in the substitute should have his, or her, open hand up until there are only ten players on the court.

Third, if A5 was making progress, even slow progress, on his, or her, way to the bench, when the ball was being put into play, and Team A was not gaining an advantage by having, technically, six players on the court, then I wouldn't have issued the technical foul in this situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 02:43pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski View Post
Oy.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
Vey...........
Got it! Nice!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 03:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Watching the freshman game before mine, A1 goes in for a layup and B1 goes up and tries to block it, hitting the backboard in the process (same side as the shot). He hit it very lightly. Lead official (yes, the lead) blows his whistle and calls a T.
The shot went in, they made both free throws and a shot off the ensuing possession. Went from 3 down to 3 up just like that.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 04:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Some equipment shown is optional.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
A1 goes in for a layup and B1 goes up and tries to block it, hitting the backboard in the process (same side as the shot). He hit it very lightly. Lead official blows his whistle and calls a T.
"Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into." (Oliver Hardy, 1930)

Is this the same official from the original post? If so, what part of one of this season's Points of Emphasis did he, or she, not understand?

4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 08:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
One of the vasity officials was there really early (I was on the JV game) and came in with us at the end of the third quarter. When the frosh guys came in, he brought it up an dealt with it. I didn't have to find out, that way, and we were able to focus on our own pregame.

I think he had heard the calling official tell his partner, "he wasn't trying to block it." My thought (and he concurred) was that if it's even close, benefit goes to a no-call there.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
"Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into." (Oliver Hardy, 1930)

Is this the same official from the original post? If so, what part of one of this season's Points of Emphasis did he, or she, not understand?

4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).
I had this chat with a fellow official the other day. If the ball is in the imaginary cylinder, but not on or within the basket, and the ring is contacted (i.e. pulled down or grasped), is it BI?

On an unrelated point, I had one the other day where a kid went up for a dunk. As he tried to flush it, the ball bounced up about two feet above the rim. His hand grabbed the rim for a split second before he let it go, and the ball falls in immediately. Of course the idiots on the stands are yelling "That's goaltending!"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,191
Quote:
during a stopped clock, dead ball period, when substitutes are reporting, and replacing players, the officials should always be making eye contact with each other.
I STRONGLY disagree with this. The officials should be watching the PLAYERS, not each other. Eye contact isn't necessary until right before you put the ball into play.

In this situation, its as much the responsibility of the official administering the throw in to make sure only 5 of each team are on the court as it is the other official(s). These problems happen because people get in too big of a hurry. Slow down, make sure your partner doesn't have his hand up, double check the count of players, THEN put the ball into play. If your partner never puts his hand up with beckoning subs, you need to correct that at halftime or between games, but that doesn't mean you completely ignore how many players are on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 09:01pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski View Post
I chalked this one up as one I'll probably (and hopefully) never see again. I am a fan (not a ref) watching a JV match. Team B has spot throw-in under their own bucket. A6, a sub, is waved in by trail. A5 being replaced, begins walking off the court. The lead official, not watching his trail (who was not giving the open handed "pause" signal to his partner), puts the ball in play as player A5 is still 15 feet from his bench on the court. Trail official calls technical for Team A having 6 players on the court. Refs don't confer, Ts are shot. Oy.
Was the game tied with just a few seconds to go? If so, it's a good call.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 09:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Penalty for private use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
I STRONGLY disagree with this. The officials should be watching the PLAYERS, not each other. Eye contact isn't necessary until right before you put the ball into play. In this situation, its as much the responsibility of the official administering the throw in to make sure only 5 of each team are on the court as it is the other official(s). These problems happen because people get in too big of a hurry. Slow down, make sure your partner doesn't have his hand up, double check the count of players, THEN put the ball into play. If your partner never puts his hand up with beckoning subs, you need to correct that at halftime or between games, but that doesn't mean you completely ignore how many players are on the floor.
All good points. Rookie officials, please take note. This is a classic example of preventative officiating, in this case preventing having to penalize with a technical foul for having six players on the court.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 09:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 20,916
Some assembly required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
If the ball is in the imaginary cylinder, but not on or within the basket, and the ring is contacted (i.e. pulled down or grasped), is it BI?
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 09:16pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Was the game tied with just a few seconds to go? If so, it's a good call.
Another item for the tied near the end of the game bag of tricks.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.
The person I was discussing this with said that touching the basket with the ball in the cylinder was BI. I disagreed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Doug Eddings calls "Obstruction" on himself; protects runner UMP25 Baseball 29 Sun Oct 07, 2007 02:34pm
Partner calls "bad walk" in my primary hbioteach Basketball 11 Sun Feb 11, 2007 04:53pm
Great Game - "Odd" Calls BillyMac Basketball 29 Mon Jan 08, 2007 12:14am
"judgment Calls" irefky Football 0 Wed Jun 14, 2006 06:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1