The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "interesting calls" (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51824-interesting-calls.html)

BillyMac Sun Feb 22, 2009 09:27pm

Third party fees may apply.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 582204)
The person I was discussing this with said that touching the basket with the ball in the cylinder was BI. I disagreed.

"You are correct, sir." (Ed McMahon)

Forksref Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:03pm

I don't count 10 players. I take each hand (5 fingers) and make sure that each hand matches the number of players of each team before the ball becomes alive.

The lower the level of ball, the less likely that players know who they are going in for or those being replaced knowing they are being replaced. They also are less likely to RUN on the floor and off the floor.

BillyMac Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:07am

Keep away from sunlight.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref (Post 582225)
I don't count 10 players. I take each hand (5 fingers) and make sure that each hand matches the number of players of each team before the ball becomes alive.

If there are more than ten players, do you take off a shoe, and begin to count toes?

Note to Mark Padgett: Don't even think about it. We all know what's on your mind, given a straight line like this.

ODJ Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 582142)
"Well, here's another nice mess you've gotten me into." (Oliver Hardy, 1930)

Is this the same official from the original post? If so, what part of one of this season's Points of Emphasis did he, or she, not understand?

4. SLAPPING THE BACKBOARD. The incidents of players slapping the backboard are increasing throughout the country. The rules specify that “intentionally slapping or striking the backboard” is a technical foul (10-3-5). The spirit and intent of that rule is to penalize a player for drawing attention to him/herself or as a means of venting frustration. A player who strikes the backboard in a legitimate attempt to block a try for goal should not be penalized. Basket interference cannot be ruled in either of the above situations. Basket interference only occurs if the ball is interfered with while in the cylinder above the basket ring or by touching either the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket (4-6).

Don't score the basket. 2 FTs and the ball.

Adam Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODJ (Post 582250)
Don't score the basket. 2 FTs and the ball.

Unless the basket is made. Again, this one needs to call itself, if you're at all unsure if he was attempting to block the shot, he was trying to block the shot and it's a no-call.

jeschmit Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:14pm

I had a player that was subbing in near the beginning of the game. He must have verbally given his number to the scorers table as he still had his warmup top still on. As he took his warmup off to come into the game and his jersey was on backwards! After some laughs, he took it off to get it on the correct way.

I joked with the coach that we would have to T him up for removing his jersey. The coach said, "Hasn't he been embarrassed enough?" I laughed and agreed.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 582367)
I had a player that was subbing in near the beginning of the game. He must have verbally given his number to the scorers table as he still had his warmup top still on. As he took his warmup off to come into the game and his jersey was on backwards! After some laughs, he took it off to get it on the correct way.

I joked with the coach that we would have to T him up for removing his jersey. The coach said, "Hasn't he been embarrassed enough?" I laughed and agreed.

No exceptions to that rule! The NFHS has stated that it is to apply under all circumstances, even when a jersey needs to be changed due to blood.

WHACK

fullor30 Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 582104)
Got it! Nice! ;)

Shanana.............er shalom

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 582181)
I had this chat with a fellow official the other day. If the ball is in the imaginary cylinder, but not on or within the basket, and the ring is contacted (i.e. pulled down or grasped), is it BI?

Only if the ball strikes the ring before it returns to its normal position.

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 582181)
On an unrelated point, I had one the other day where a kid went up for a dunk. As he tried to flush it, the ball bounced up about two feet above the rim. His hand grabbed the rim for a split second before he let it go, and the ball falls in immediately. Of course the idiots on the stands are yelling "That's goaltending!" :rolleyes:

It might have been offensive BI for the same reason as given above.

zm1283 Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 582386)
Only if the ball strikes the ring before it returns to its normal position.



It might have been offensive BI for the same reason as given above.

No, on that one the rim returned to its normal position before the ball went in. I was L so it wasn't my call either way.

jeschmit Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 582384)
No exceptions to that rule! The NFHS has stated that it is to apply under all circumstances, even when a jersey needs to be changed due to blood.

WHACK

OK, so I might have kicked this sitch, but what if he just put his arms in his jersey and roll it around his body. Would that have been a WHACK?

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeschmit (Post 582396)
OK, so I might have kicked this sitch, but what if he just put his arms in his jersey and roll it around his body. Would that have been a WHACK?


The rules says "removing the jersey." I don't consider putting one's arms inside of the jersey and spinning it around without pulling it up and over one's head to be removing it.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 582392)
No, on that one the rim returned to its normal position before the ball went in. I was L so it wasn't my call either way.

Given that you were in the Lead position, some people might ask why you observed this action. ;)

zm1283 Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 582402)
Given that you were in the Lead position, some people might ask why you observed this action. ;)

It was in transition. I was running along with the player that did it. There was no one around him to foul him so it was all that was going on.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 582406)
It was in transition. I was running along with the player that did it. There was no one around him to foul him so it was all that was going on.

If that was the case, then why do you believe that BI was not your responsibility?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1