The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   division line bounce pass (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51807-division-line-bounce-pass.html)

phansen Sat Feb 21, 2009 04:05pm

division line bounce pass
 
NFHS

A1 dribbles the ball across the division line, picks up his dribble and is immediately double teamed by B1 and B2. While maintaining front court status but under heavy pressure, A1 steps back and while falling bounces a pass in the backcourt to A2 who has front court status. At what point is this a backcourt violation? When the ball touches in the backcourt or when A2 receives the bounce pass?

LocDog249 Sat Feb 21, 2009 04:07pm

When A2 receives the pass. If a player for B can steal the pass, it wouldn't be a violation at all.

just another ref Sat Feb 21, 2009 05:01pm

There is no situation where the ball touching the backcourt is a violation.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 21, 2009 05:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 581879)
NFHS

A1 dribbles the ball across the division line, picks up his dribble and is immediately double teamed by B1 and B2. While maintaining front court status but under heavy pressure, A1 steps back and while falling bounces a pass in the backcourt to A2 who has front court status. At what point is this a backcourt violation? When the ball touches in the backcourt or when A2 receives the bounce pass?


9-9 clearly says something like "A player shall not be the first to touch the ball ..."

I will add that some have opined that the play you describe is not a violation at all.

BktBallRef Sat Feb 21, 2009 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 581879)
NFHS

A1 dribbles the ball across the division line, picks up his dribble and is immediately double teamed by B1 and B2. While maintaining front court status but under heavy pressure, A1 steps back and while falling bounces a pass in the backcourt to A2 who has front court status. At what point is this a backcourt violation? When the ball touches in the backcourt or when A2 receives the bounce pass?

It's a BC violation when A2 touches the pass. (9-9-1)

mbyron Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 581889)
I will add that some have opined that the play you describe is not a violation at all.

By mentioning this opinion, do you intend to legitimize it? You must be aware that your standing in the forum might lead people to think so.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 582015)
By mentioning this opinion, do you intend to legitimize it? You must be aware that your standing in the forum might lead people to think so.


MByron:

While I can not speak for Bob, I have the feeling and it just a feeling, that he made the comment to get people to discuss and/or study the backcourt rule in more depth. Most people who know me on this Forum would tell you that they would probably expect the same comment from me because I like to get the ball rolling on discussions, to stir the pot, so to speak. Think about it, study the rule in depth and I think you will see what I mean.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. I just like to rile people up sometimes, :D.

bob jenkins Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 582015)
By mentioning this opinion, do you intend to legitimize it?

Just the opposite.

BillyMac Sun Feb 22, 2009 01:01pm

Batteries not included.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 582030)
I just like to rile people up sometimes.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Please stop using those old fashioned 19th century phrases, like "rile". It gives away your age. You might as well have your birth certificate glued to your forehead. Youngsters, like me, would say, "I just like to yank their chain sometimes".

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 01:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 581889)
9-9 clearly says something like "A player shall not be the first to touch the ball ..."

I will add that some have opined that the play you describe is not a violation at all.

Bob is making reference to these posts:

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...4&postcount=13

http://forum.officiating.com/showpos...4&postcount=67

SamIAm Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 581887)
There is no situation where the ball touching the backcourt is a violation.

I think you are incorrect. A1 with FC status dribbling, ball with front court status. A1, dribbling along the division line, dribbles the ball in the backcourt while standing in the front court.

Is that not an immediate violation?

Nevadaref Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 582299)
I think you are incorrect. A1 with FC status dribbling, ball with front court status. A1, dribbling along the division line, dribbles the ball in the backcourt while standing in the front court.

Is that not an immediate violation?

Nope. It becomes a violation when the dribble is touched again by A1 after having bounced in the backcourt.

JAR is right.

SamIAm Mon Feb 23, 2009 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 582315)
Nope. It becomes a violation when the dribble is touched again by A1 after having bounced in the backcourt.

JAR is right.

This should be handled the same as the dribbler along the sideline stepping oob? Wait to see if it was a pass (whcih could be stolen by the defense)?

just another ref Mon Feb 23, 2009 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 582460)
This should be handled the same as the dribbler along the sideline stepping oob? Wait to see if it was a pass (whcih could be stolen by the defense)?


Think about it. The two things are nothing alike.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1