The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   double foul after inbounds (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51802-double-foul-after-inbounds.html)

mutantducky Sat Feb 21, 2009 02:16am

double foul after inbounds
 
Team A taking ball for throw in. If there is a double foul before the throw, does Team A get it again? POI
Same but ball is released and there is no possession.

Nevadaref Sat Feb 21, 2009 05:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 581753)
Team A taking ball for throw in. If there is a double foul before the throw, does Team A get it again? POI
Same but ball is released and there is no possession.

A double foul ALWAYS goes to the point of interruption. If it occurs DURING a throw-in, the same team will be administered that throw-in again. The throw-in ends when the passed ball is touched either inbounds or out-of-bounds by another player on the court or the throwing team violates. If there is no team control AFTER the throw-in has ended, then the POI rule would direct you to use the AP arrow.

That's what the POI rule says.

PSidbury Sat Feb 21, 2009 07:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 581753)
If there is a double foul before the throw, does Team A get it again?

Bonus question:

And if there is a double-foul before the referee gives the ball to the thrower for the throw-in (ie., ball not yet at thrower's disposal)?

Thanks,
Paul

williebfree Sat Feb 21, 2009 07:55am

POI is just that
 
After the whistle, report the fouls and go back to what would have happened next.
If no team control exists, AP.

mbyron Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSidbury (Post 581766)
Bonus question:

And if there is a double-foul before the referee gives the ball to the thrower for the throw-in (ie., ball not yet at thrower's disposal)?

Thanks,
Paul

Nevada's answer might have said "BEFORE or DURING" the throw-in. POI is the throw-in.

Raymond Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PSidbury (Post 581766)
Bonus question:

And if there is a double-foul before the referee gives the ball to the thrower for the throw-in (ie., ball not yet at thrower's disposal)?

Thanks,
Paul

Then those would be double T's, but same result.

Adam Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by williebfree (Post 581767)
After the whistle, report the fouls and go back to what would have happened next.
If no team control exists, AP.

Not necessarily.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1