The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another tricky one... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51795-another-tricky-one.html)

UNH IM Ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 08:42pm

Another tricky one...
 
Some of my intramural evaluators came to me last week with another tough question that of course I couldn't answer and couldn't find in my rule books. Here it is:

Player A1 shoots while in the front court, the ball hits the back of the rim/backboard and bounces into the backcourt (they said it actually happened). If a player on team A recovers the rebound in the backcourt will there be a backcourt violation? I am fairly positive the answer is no but since I couldn't find it in any rule books I thought I'd clear it with you guys first, plus I like the debate on reasons why etc...

Thanks

BktBallRef Fri Feb 20, 2009 08:53pm

Team control is required to have a BC violation.

When does team control end?

mutantducky Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:09pm

nope
no again even if A touches in the FC, a tip for instance into the BC.


Here is one for ya- A1 shoots an airball that does not hit the board or rim. Ball boucnes around and is knocked by A2(still loose, no control) into the backcourt. A gets the ball. Violation?

UNH IM Ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:14pm

Well i would say no vio still because on an intentional shot there is no team control.. so just like when a player shoots an airball that player can rebound the ball without being a travel because the intent was to shoot and that player loses control of the ball at the time of the shot.. right?

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581695)
Well i would say no violation still because on an intentional shot there is no team control.. so just like when a player shoots an airball that player can rebound the ball without being a travel because the intent was to shoot and that player loses control of the ball at the time of the shot.. right?

Correct.

Team control ends when the shot was released. If after a shot, the ball goes to the backcourt, and Team A obtains possession there, a new team control exists. For an over-and-back violation to be called, the 4 criteria would all have to become true again.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 21, 2009 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581695)
intentional shot

Is there any other kind?

Adam Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 581779)
Is there any other kind?

Alley oop pass that goes in the basket instead of to the teammate? Wait, nope, that's a "thrown ball."

mbyron Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 581779)
Is there any other kind?

Can you sound a little more like Nicholson when you say that? :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1