The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Owning the sideline? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51774-owning-sideline.html)

UNH IM Ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:31am

Owning the sideline?
 
I was evaluating intramural referees at UNH last weekend and saw a particularly interesting call from one of our better officials who also happens to be a freshman that got his start long before college. He called a block that I immediately thought was a charge because the defensive player had given the dribbler 3 steps and enough time to change his course. After the game I brought up the play with the ref and he said that because the dribbler had established his path along the sideline's edge that he "owned" that sideline and the defense must give up their position to the runner on the sideline...

Was he blowing smoke or is this something that I've been missing? If it is a legitimate call then does it also apply to the baseline?

Thanks for your input.

Rich Fri Feb 20, 2009 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581400)
I was evaluating intramural referees at UNH last weekend and saw a particularly interesting call from one of our better officials who also happens to be a freshman that got his start long before college. He called a block that I immediately thought was a charge because the defensive player had given the dribbler 3 steps and enough time to change his course. After the game I brought up the play with the ref and he said that because the dribbler had established his path along the sideline's edge that he "owned" that sideline and the defense must give up their position to the runner on the sideline...

Was he blowing smoke or is this something that I've been missing? If it is a legitimate call then does it also apply to the baseline?

Thanks for your input.

Smoke 'em if you got 'em.

justacoach Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581400)
I was evaluating intramural referees at UNH last weekend and saw a particularly interesting call from one of our better officials who also happens to be a freshman that got his start long before college. He called a block that I immediately thought was a charge because the defensive player had given the dribbler 3 steps and enough time to change his course. After the game I brought up the play with the ref and he said that because the dribbler had established his path along the sideline's edge that he "owned" that sideline and the defense must give up their position to the runner on the sideline...

Was he blowing smoke or is this something that I've been missing? If it is a legitimate call then does it also apply to the baseline?

Thanks for your input.

pls refer him to Rule 4 Section 7 to disabuse him of this erroneous notion...
SECTION 7 BLOCKING, CHARGING
ART. 1 . . . Blocking is illegal personal contact which impedes the progress of
an opponent with or without the ball.
ART. 2 . . . Charging is illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving
into an opponent’s torso.
a. A player who is moving with the ball is required to stop or change direction
to avoid contact if a defensive player has obtained a legal guarding position
in his/her path.
b. If a guard has obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball
must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player.
If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is
responsible for the contact.
c. There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a
defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in
his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater
responsibility for the contact.
d. The player with the ball may not push the torso of the guard to gain a

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 20, 2009 05:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581400)
I was evaluating intramural referees at UNH last weekend and saw a particularly interesting call from one of our better officials who also happens to be a freshman that got his start long before college. He called a block that I immediately thought was a charge because the defensive player had given the dribbler 3 steps and enough time to change his course. After the game I brought up the play with the ref and he said that because the dribbler had established his path along the sideline's edge that he "owned" that sideline and the defense must give up their position to the runner on the sideline...

Was he blowing smoke or is this something that I've been missing? If it is a legitimate call then does it also apply to the baseline?

Thanks for your input.

When playing defense against the ball carrier, time and distance are not a requirement. All that is required is obtaining Legal Guarding Position, and then maintaining that legal guarding position. If you need to, look up the definitions of LGP in rule 4.

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 07:41am

Tell him he's wrong, and ask him where in the he!! he heard that crap.

Ref Ump Welsch Fri Feb 20, 2009 08:32am

Next time he says someone owns the sideline because of their position, ask him if they showed him a deed, title, or proof of ownership. :confused: His explanation is so full of smoke, I'd vomit if he told me directly. :rolleyes:

Da Official Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:12am

It's obvious the explanation the young man gave was incorrect as no one is entitled to the sideline. It is however possible he got the block call right if the defensive player lacked Legal Guarding Position (i.e. defender's foot was Out Of Bounds when the contact occurred).

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 581459)
It's obvious the explanation the young man gave was incorrect as no one is entitled to the sideline. It is however possible he got the block call right if the defensive player lacked Legal Guarding Position (i.e. defender's foot was Out Of Bounds when the contact occurred).

I still have a hard time with the idea of calling a blocking foul on a stationary player just because his foot was touching the line. LGP is not required for a stationary player, and in the OP, it's clear the defender was stationary.

ranjo Fri Feb 20, 2009 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UNH IM Ref (Post 581400)
I was evaluating intramural referees at UNH last weekend and saw a particularly interesting call from one of our better officials who also happens to be a freshman that got his start long before college. He called a block that I immediately thought was a charge because the defensive player had given the dribbler 3 steps and enough time to change his course. After the game I brought up the play with the ref and he said that because the dribbler had established his path along the sideline's edge that he "owned" that sideline and the defense must give up their position to the runner on the sideline...

Was he blowing smoke or is this something that I've been missing? If it is a legitimate call then does it also apply to the baseline?

He probably got the idea from 10-6-9:

"When a dribbler in his/her progress is moving in a straight-line path, He/she may not be crowded out of that path, but if an opponent is able to legally obtain a defensive position in that path, the dribbler must avoid contact by changing direction or ending his/her dribble."

He just didn't read the complete sentence.;)

Spence Fri Feb 20, 2009 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581467)
I still have a hard time with the idea of calling a blocking foul on a stationary player just because his foot was touching the line. LGP is not required for a stationary player, and in the OP, it's clear the defender was stationary.

I don't see any language that says LGP doesn't have to be established if the defender is stationary.

Am I missing it?

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 01:30pm

The part that says a player is entitled to their spot on the court.
Think about it, if the player is standing with her back to the dribbler, minding her own business, when the dribbler runs by and clips her knocking both players to the floor, who are you going to call the foul on? There's no LGP (defender never faced the opponent.)

Spence Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581575)
The part that says a player is entitled to their spot on the court.
Think about it, if the player is standing with her back to the dribbler, minding her own business, when the dribbler runs by and clips her knocking both players to the floor, who are you going to call the foul on? There's no LGP (defender never faced the opponent.)

That defender is not "guarding" as the defender is in the OP.

So if we're talking about a defender is by definition "guarding" doesn't LGP have to be established? If so, does the defender have LGP is he/she has a foot out of bounds?

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 581593)
That defender is not "guarding" as the defender is in the OP.

What makes the difference? What if B1 got to her spot, in time, on purpose. Does that make a difference? What is it about the player in the OP that tells you they were "guarding." The fact that they were in the way?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 581593)
So if we're talking about a defender is by definition "guarding" doesn't LGP have to be established?

No.

Spence Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581595)
No.

Please explain. If there is a block/charge situation isn't the call based on LGP?

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 581597)
Please explain. If there is a block/charge situation isn't the call based on LGP?

Only if the defender is moving laterally or vertically. See my added response above the "no."

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:12pm

A player is always entitled to their spot on the floor; provided they got there legally.

LGP does grants the right to be moving on contact without being responsible for that contact.

just another ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:30pm

LGP to me is an overrated term. It is a good example of a little knowledge may be worse than no knowledge at all. A guy sits in the stands for years yelling, "That's a blocking foul! He wasn't set!" Then, he sits next to Padgett at a game one night, and is given a lollipop and a complimentary rule book along with an explanation of Legal Guarding Position. Then, the very next night, B1 is beaten off the dribble by A1, who has a clear path to the basket. As B1 sprints to catch up, A1 sees him out of the corner of his eye and clears out with his inside arm as he goes up for the shot. The guy is outraged and confused. "What? He never had Legal Guarding Position? Where's that Padgett guy?"

Padgett is on the court, reporting the foul, after waving off the basket, which would have sent the game into overtime.

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 581605)
Padgett is on the court, reporting the foul, after waving off the basket, which would have sent the game into overtime.

Whic of course had nothing to do with LGP. :D

just another ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581606)
Whic of course had nothing to do with LGP. :D


I know that, and you know that.........but apparently Padgett gave that guy a less than perfect explanation.

Rich Fri Feb 20, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 581607)
I know that, and you know that.........but apparently Padgett gave that guy a less than perfect explanation.

Reading through this thread, the one thing that popped into my head was: Sometimes, you just have to referee.

just another ref Fri Feb 20, 2009 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 581635)
Reading through this thread, the one thing that popped into my head was: Sometimes, you just have to referee.

Padgett couldn't have said it better.

Adam Fri Feb 20, 2009 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 581663)
Padgett couldn't have said it better.

That describes a long list of things.

fullor30 Fri Feb 20, 2009 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 581635)
Reading through this thread, the one thing that popped into my head was: Sometimes, you just have to referee.


Whew....thanks, I was getting lost.

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:58am

Call toll free number before digging.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 581404)
Smoke 'em if you got 'em.

Isn't that what Michael Phelps said?

Adam Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 581839)
Isn't that what Michael Phelps said?

Not sure, apparently there isn't enough evidence.

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:02pm

Do not remove this disclaimer under penalty of law.
 
FYI: NFHS 4-7-c: There must be reasonable space between two defensive players or a defensive player and a boundary line to allow the dribbler to continue in his/her path. If there is less than 3 feet of space, the dribbler has the greater responsibility for the contact.

BillyMac Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:03pm

Return to sender.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581841)
Not sure, apparently there isn't enough evidence.

Apparently a photo, several eye witnesses, and an apology from Phelps isn't enough evidence in some jurisdictions.

Adam Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 581843)
Apparently a photo, several eye witnesses, and an apology from Phelps isn't enough evidence in some jurisdictions.

My guess, there's not enough evidence of a serious crime. At best, he'd get a misdimeanor, I think (not sure about SC law). I'm guessing the DA slapped the sheriff upside the head and told him not to pursue this; thus saving SC tax payers quite a bit of money.

mbyron Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 581849)
My guess, there's not enough evidence of a serious crime. At best, he'd get a misdimeanor, I think (not sure about SC law). I'm guessing the DA slapped the sheriff upside the head and told him not to pursue this; thus saving SC tax payers quite a bit of money.

Good guess. Since the photo showed him with his mouth on the bong, I kept waiting to hear "he didn't inhale." ;)

fullor30 Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 582018)
Good guess. Since the photo showed him with his mouth on the bong, I kept waiting to hear "he didn't inhale." ;)

Or if Bill mixed up his excuses........

I did not have sex with that bong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1