The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Buy your way out of violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51689-buy-your-way-out-violation.html)

hugheske44 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:19am

Buy your way out of violation?
 
Recently it was brought up on herethat calling time out doesnt get the opposite team out of a lane violation on a free throw....which got my partner thinking and asking me the question...

A is at the free throw line, ref gives ball to A, they have full control, dribble a couple times, then lose the ball. the 10 second time is not up and they have not left the semi-circle. Team As coach calls time out....does this buy them out of the violation?

I said no, but couldnt find it in the casebook. I looked under free throws and time outs. He said its in there, any help is appreciated~~~

mbyron Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:22am

Losing the ball is not a violation.

Indianaref Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:27am

Player control is required in requesting a time-out.

Adam Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:27am

Your partner is right. I'll look for the cite.

fullor30 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hugheske44 (Post 579896)
Recently it was brought up on herethat calling time out doesnt get the opposite team out of a lane violation on a free throw....which got my partner thinking and asking me the question...

A is at the free throw line, ref gives ball to A, they have full control, dribble a couple times, then lose the ball. the 10 second time is not up and they have not left the semi-circle. Team As coach calls time out....does this buy them out of the violation?

I said no, but couldnt find it in the casebook. I looked under free throws and time outs. He said its in there, any help is appreciated~~~

Would be the same as a backcourt scenario. You didn't pick up counts halfway. If coach thought shooter was approaching 10 seconds even though he was preparing to shoot would be the same as you describe.

Adam Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 579902)
Player control is required in requesting a time-out.

Or "at the disposal" of a free thrower or shooter. By rule, a player could request a TO here, but by case play, I believe this is a violation as soon it escapes his reach.

fullor30 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 579902)
Player control is required in requesting a time-out.

He has total player control ........he's in the semi circle, can sit on it, do a hand stand, dribble it with two hands, it's his little world for 10 seconds as long as he stays 'home'

Indianaref Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579905)
Or "at the disposal" of a free thrower or shooter. By rule, a player could request a TO here, but by case play, I believe this is a violation as soon it escapes his reach.

If it's a fumble when the ball is bounced to the free thrower, no violation, just reset. However, in the OP situation it is a violation once it escapes his/her reach.

Indianaref Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 579910)
He has total player control ........he's in the semi circle, can sit on it, do a hand stand, dribble it with two hands, it's his little world for 10 seconds as long as he stays 'home'

I was assuming the ball left the semi-circle.

Adam Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:44am

Okay, case play 9.1.1 indicates the official should blow it dead and readminister even if the player "accidentally drops the ball." I'm still looking.

fullor30 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 579914)
I was assuming the ball left the semi-circle.

Read the OP

And we are getting away from the original question can coach buy out of a violation.

hugheske44 Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:50am

Yes in my original question, the ball is lost outside of the semi-circle, I realize they can do whatever they want with the ball in the circle.

The player has limited options on what to do once they lose the ball, go chase the ball--violation, let the 10 seconds expire--violation, call time out---violation???

My partner just said he may have seen it in Referee magazine, not the case book. I told him I cant find it specifically in the case book. Or possibly it couldve been in an older casebook since they do change them every so often?~~~

just another ref Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579916)
Okay, case play 9.1.1 indicates the official should blow it dead and readminister even if the player "accidentally drops the ball." I'm still looking.


That's a. Look at b.

Adam Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 579939)
That's a. Look at b.

That's it, thanks. I was looking at last year's case book, which is slightly different. Last year's said he just dropped it after having it, and both situations called for a re-set.

This year's says to call the violation if he dribbles it off his foot into the lane.

At first glance, I don't like this case play. However, all the defense would have to do to ensure the violation is grab the ball and toss it OOB; even if they had to step in the lane to intercept a pass from an offensive player in his lane space, a double violation on a free throw penalizes the offense rather than the defense.

BillyMac Mon Feb 16, 2009 08:38pm

Do not bend, fold, mutilate, or spindle.
 
*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

Nevadaref Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by hugheske44 (Post 579921)
Yes in my original question, the ball is lost outside of the semi-circle, I realize they can do whatever they want with the ball in the circle.

The player has limited options on what to do once they lose the ball, go chase the ball--violation, let the 10 seconds expire--violation, call time out---violation???

My partner just said he may have seen it in Referee magazine, not the case book. I told him I cant find it specifically in the case book. Or possibly it couldve been in an older casebook since they do change them every so often?~~~

The official should not grant the time-out request as it was made at an improper time. Per 5-8-3 the ball must be dead, a player from the team must have control, or the ball must be at the disposal of the requesting team. After the free-thrower loses the ball none of those conditions exist.

As others have noted, there is a new casebook ruling this season which states that the free-thrower violates if he loses the ball in a manner such that he cannot regain control of it without leaving the semi-circle.

Juulie Downs Tue Feb 17, 2009 05:18am

So the answer to the original question is, "No. The coach can't 'buy out' of a violation." Not even an arcane, little-understood violation such as this one.

So the appropriate sequence would be:

ref bounces ball to shooter
shooter catches, adjusts feet, dribbles, bounce it away
coach yells, "Time Out!!"
ref whistles, signals violation
ref turns to coach and asks, "Do you still want the TO?"

Is that correct?

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 17, 2009 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 580271)
So the answer to the original question is, "No. The coach can't 'buy out' of a violation." Not even an arcane, little-understood violation such as this one.

So the appropriate sequence would be:

ref bounces ball to shooter
shooter catches, adjusts feet, dribbles, bounce it away
coach yells, "Time Out!!"
ref whistles, signals violation
ref turns to coach and asks, "Do you still want the TO?"

Is that correct?

If I was being evaluated, and I used the procedure you did, I would expect a checkmark! :p

(Assuming you left out the part where the official voices how many shots are left, since that part of the situation was understood.)

mbyron Tue Feb 17, 2009 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 580174)
*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

In light of this new case play, I withdraw post #2 of this thread. :o

Nevadaref Tue Feb 17, 2009 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 579900)
Losing the ball is not a violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 580174)
*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 580281)
In light of this new case play, I withdraw post #2 of this thread. :o

Done with your usual grace and elegance. :)

Lotto Tue Feb 17, 2009 08:41am

The NCAA ruling is different
 
From the case book:

A.R. 186. A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw, receives the ball from the official, who starts a silent count. While bouncing the ball, A1 strikes the ball on his/her knee or leg accidentally and the ball rolls toward the basket between the free throw lane lines.

RULING: The official shall sound the whistle at once, causing the ball to become dead. The official should caution the free thrower, place the ball at the disposal of A1 and start a new silent count. (Rule 9-1.2.a, 6-1.4.c,d and 6-5.1.d)

Chess Ref Tue Feb 17, 2009 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 580233)
As others have noted, there is a new casebook ruling this season which states that the free-thrower violates if he loses the ball in a manner such that he cannot regain control of it without leaving the semi-circle.

How about if defender gives player the ball back ?

Indianaref Tue Feb 17, 2009 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 580294)
How about if defender gives player the ball back ?

A free-throw violation shall be called immediately when the free thrower looses/deflects the ball out of the semi circle.

cardinalfan Tue Feb 17, 2009 09:16am

I've never had this happen, and I hope it doesn't anytime soon.

hugheske44 Tue Feb 17, 2009 02:53pm

Thank you!
 
Im glad I found this board! Thanks again guys, always interesting discussions on here!~~~

AKOFL Tue Feb 17, 2009 05:20pm

I've had it happen three times in four days. Twice it was the same official. The first one was a violation, second was a bad pass and catch. The third was a sweet preshot dribble of the foot for a violation. Never had it happen in 10 plus years of calling before. Funny how things come up on the forum and then happen. Scary really!:eek:

Juulie Downs Tue Feb 17, 2009 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 580279)
If I was being evaluated, and I used the procedure you did, I would expect a checkmark! :p

(Assuming you left out the part where the official voices how many shots are left, since that part of the situation was understood.)

checkmark, meaning bad? Or good? what's right or wrong about what I said?

Adam Wed Feb 18, 2009 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 580233)
The official should not grant the time-out request as it was made at an improper time. Per 5-8-3 the ball must be dead, a player from the team must have control, or the ball must be at the disposal of the requesting team. After the free-thrower loses the ball none of those conditions exist.

Really? I wasn't aware of a rule that said "at the disposal of" ends if the free-thrower loses control. Is this also true on a throw-in?

A1 has the ball for a throw-in, starts to pass and thinks twice. He fumbles it away, still OOB, but out of his 3 foot spot. Is it still at his disposal? Can they request a TO?

What about an endline throw-in?

Nevadaref Wed Feb 18, 2009 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 580661)
Really? I wasn't aware of a rule that said "at the disposal of" ends if the free-thrower loses control. Is this also true on a throw-in?

That is the basic point of the new case play ruling. If the FTer can no longer reach the ball, then it's clearly not at his disposal. If he sets it down within the semi-circle, then that's okay.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 580661)
A1 has the ball for a throw-in, starts to pass and thinks twice. He fumbles it away, still OOB, but out of his 3 foot spot. Is it still at his disposal? Can they request a TO?

If the ball goes out of his three-foot spot, he can't go get it without violating, so it's no longer at his disposal. No disposal = no time-out.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 580661)
What about an endline throw-in?

I have maintained that if the ball is somewhere that the player is allowed, then it's at his disposal. So anywhere behind the end line is ok in this case.

Adam Wed Feb 18, 2009 09:49am

So this is just intuitive thinking on your part, not really a solid rule basis. I'm not knocking it, it makes sense, just trying to grasp it.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:12am

It has always been clear to me. I found it strange that the case book used to say to stop the game and give the ball back to the FTer without any penalty, but that's what I did because that was what the ruling said to do.
Now I don't that anymore.

He lost it. It's no longer at his disposal. Seems simple and logical to me.

Adam Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 580689)
It has always been clear to me. I found it strange that the case book used to say to stop the game and give the ball back to the FTer without any penalty, but that's what I did because that was what the ruling said to do.
Now I don't that anymore.

He lost it. It's no longer at his disposal. Seems simple and logical to me.

I took a different reasoning for the case play; it prevents a defender from having to grab it and toss it away. Just call the violation. I agree with your bewilderment on the previous case play.

Your reasoning actually makes more sense to me, though.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 580515)
checkmark, meaning bad? Or good? what's right or wrong about what I said?

Checkmarks are good!

X's are bad.

NFC is reeeeaally bad. :eek:

Nevadaref Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 580698)
NFC is reeeeaally bad. :eek:

But they beat the AFC in the Pro Bowl this year. :confused:

Oh, that's not the NFC that you meant. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1