The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Net / Basket relationship? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51665-net-basket-relationship.html)

ref2coach Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:16am

Net / Basket relationship?
 
A fellow referee and I come up with hypothetical s to test each other on rule/case knowledge.

A player mistakenly shooting at the opponents basket. The ball has entered the basket from above. The net checks the balls decent. The ball fully cleared the bottom of the ring. The ball is fully inside the net. The player who mistakenly shot the ball is fouled at the time the ball is still inside the net.

We both agree that had the foul occurred before the ball entered the basket, that the ball would have been dead, BUT with the ball still in the net will the 2 points be counted or not?

Thanks in advance. A Brown pop is riding on the provable answer. :)

Nevadaref Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:37am

The goal counts per 5-1-1.
A live ball entered the basket from above. The rule now requires it to REMAIN IN or PASS THROUGH the the basket in order to be scored.

I'm well-aware that the ball becomes dead at the time of the foul because the action is not a try, and that at this point the ball has not fully passed through the basket. However, it is not required to. All that it has to do is remain in the goal. If that happens, then the goal counts.

just another ref Sun Feb 15, 2009 02:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 579555)
The goal counts per 5-1-1.
A live ball entered the basket from above. The rule now requires it to REMAIN IN or PASS THROUGH the the basket in order to be scored.

I'm well-aware that the ball becomes dead at the time of the foul because the action is not a try, and that at this point the ball has not fully passed through the basket. However, it is not required to. All that it has to do is remain in the goal. If that happens, then the goal counts.

What if an alert player at this point pokes the ball back out the top?

Nevadaref Sun Feb 15, 2009 02:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 579569)
What if an alert player at this point pokes the ball back out the top?

If he does so prior to the foul, it is obviously basket interference.

If he does so AFTER the foul, hence while the ball is dead, BI is not a possible ruling, but I would say that the goal still counts because the ball became dead while it had remained in the basket.

just another ref Sun Feb 15, 2009 02:18am

This is a pretty good (stupid) question, is it not? It doesn't say remains in the basket until the ball becomes dead. This infers that it must stay in the basket, uh, forever. I guess we must say the key is the word live. A live ball entered the basket and no live ball came out. First one to see this play wins a million dollars.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 15, 2009 02:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 579572)
A live ball entered the basket and no live ball came out.

Nicely summarized. :) That's my take on this.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1