The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Situational Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51625-situational-question.html)

kzreffin Fri Feb 13, 2009 09:15am

Situational Question
 
Had an interesting situation last night. Team A has the ball with 3 seconds left befor half needing to go the length of the court to score. They substitute but one sub forgets to notify someone to leave the court and we do not notice. Not it was at least 10 seconds from motioning sub in to putting ball in play. Team A inbounds and as they are pushing to get a last sec shot one kids is being yelled at by coaches and he jumps off the court. The shot is missed, the busser sounds and then we three refs gather up. We decide to issue a T which we are sure is the correct call.

Q1 - when are the technicals shot? We shot them before going to the locker room because even though the clock expired the violation was noticed before the clock hit 0. Is this correct?

Q2 - We did not reset the clock back to 3.3 obviously. This is correct, right?

Q3 - What happens to the possession arrow to start the half? Does Team B get the ball while the position arrow (no matter the direction it faced) stays unchanged?

I looked up and down the case manual and the rules and found very little related except a situation where someone dunks after the buzzer and gets a T for hanging on the rim. Here is is administered to start the 2nd half.

BktBallRef Fri Feb 13, 2009 09:25am

The infraction occurred during the second quarter, so the quarter is not over until the FTs for the technical are shot. You start the 3rd qtr. with the arrow, as always.

In the case play, the dunk came after the quarter ended, thus, the difference in enforcement.

Indianaref Fri Feb 13, 2009 09:25am

Here's the case play. It's almost identical to your situation. You would not reset the clock! Second half starts with the A/P.

SIX IN GAME
10.1.6 SITUATION: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

kzreffin Fri Feb 13, 2009 09:29am

BktBallRef
 
Thanks. So we start the second half with the arrow as it was facing? So unlike most technicals where you get ball plus possession, that is not the case here? Just because the hald ends?

Thanks

bob jenkins Fri Feb 13, 2009 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 578974)
Thanks. So we start the second half with the arrow as it was facing? So unlike most technicals where you get ball plus possession, that is not the case here? Just because the hald ends?

Thanks

Right. No part of a penalty can carry over to the next period.

Adam Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kzreffin (Post 578974)
Thanks. So we start the second half with the arrow as it was facing? So unlike most technicals where you get ball plus possession, that is not the case here? Just because the hald ends?

Thanks

It's exactly the same as if B1 committed a common foul on A1 just as the horn expired. A will not get the ball to start the next quarter based on the foul, but the throwin will be decided by AP.

Technicals are no different in this regard.

Da Official Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579005)
It's exactly the same as if B1 committed a common foul on A1 just as the horn expired. A will not get the ball to start the next quarter based on the foul, but the throwin will be decided by AP.

Technicals are no different in this regard.

Ok this makes sense.

Now if a technical is given for any action after the horn for the ending of the 2nd quarter then the 3rd quarter begins with 2 FTs and the ball. Correct?

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 579028)
Now if a technical is given for any action after the horn for the ending of the 2nd quarter then the 3rd quarter begins with 2 FTs and the ball. Correct?

Not just the horn but after the horn and "all related activities."

If the 2nd quarter ended with a shooting foul and a player/coach received a technical before the FT's for the shooting foul were completed, the T would be part of the 2nd quarter.

Adam Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Official (Post 579028)
Ok this makes sense.

Now if a technical is given for any action after the horn for the ending of the 2nd quarter then the 3rd quarter begins with 2 FTs and the ball. Correct?

As scratch noted, it's not necessarily the horn that makes the quarter over. Another example would be a last second shot. On a last second shot, the ball is not dead until the try is over. So, assume the following sequence occurs:

1. A1 releases a try for goal at the end of the first quarter.
2. Horn sounds.
3. B1 commits a technical foul.
4. Try ends (successfully or not).

The T will still be part of the first quarter.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1