The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   made basket at wrong end (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51622-made-basket-wrong-end.html)

mutantducky Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:01pm

made basket at wrong end
 
Doing some girls and middle school games so they things happen. Say a player makes a basket at the wrong end. Does the same team take out after the basket and can they run the line?
Also, does the clock keep running in this situation if there isn't a foul. I'm thinking the table might get confused or something and not count the basket.

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 12, 2009 09:16pm

A player (A1) throwing the ball through their opponent's basket does in fact award two points (and only ever 2 points) to the opposite team. The individual credited for the two points is of no significance to the officials. A would then take the ball OB for a throw-in, with full endline privileges. The clock keeps going.

If you can get everyone on the same page with no hiccups, then go for it.

Since everyone is likely confused, it's good practice to stop the game, verbalize what happened and how we're continuing.

Edit: In Fed, the object is to score on your own basket. In FIBA, the reverse is true.

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:32am

This very thing happened to me last night in a HS varsity game, and it was a regional championship game, no less!

Early 3rd quarter, B has a throw-in in their front court, A1 makes a good steal, gets turned around, sees she has a clear path to the basket, and makes the layup. In B's basket. Of course, the crowd starts going nuts: "Whoa?...ahhh...yea!...huh?..." I happen to be in front of the table, so I blow it dead, tell the table to award the basket to B, and my partner gives it to A for the endline throw-in.

But the table ended up asking me a question that I didn't know the answer - who gets credit for the points in the scorebook? Obviously A1 doesn't get credit, but is it the nearest player for B? Or is it just credited to "the team"?

A ended up winning by 9, so it didn't affect the outcome, but I imagine her teammates will be giving her a hard time about it for a while. This was one of the few games where we could really say the game wasn't as close as the final score indicated...

BubbaRef Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 578995)
This very thing happened to me last night in a HS varsity game, and it was a regional championship game, no less!

Early 3rd quarter, B has a throw-in in their front court, A1 makes a good steal, gets turned around, sees she has a clear path to the basket, and makes the layup. In B's basket. Of course, the crowd starts going nuts: "Whoa?...ahhh...yea!...huh?..." I happen to be in front of the table, so I blow it dead, tell the table to award the basket to B, and my partner gives it to A for the endline throw-in.

But the table ended up asking me a question that I didn't know the answer - who gets credit for the points in the scorebook? Obviously A1 doesn't get credit, but is it the nearest player for B? Or is it just credited to "the team"?

A ended up winning by 9, so it didn't affect the outcome, but I imagine her teammates will be giving her a hard time about it for a while. This was one of the few games where we could really say the game wasn't as close as the final score indicated...

It is just credited to the team and no player. Yea I seen the back of you head on TV last night. LOL

We had a good one. Ridgeview won by 6 or so but it was an up and down game the whole way.

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 579035)
Yea I seen the back of you head on TV last night. LOL

Then you saw my best part... :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 579035)
We had a good one. Ridgeview won by 6 or so but it was an up and down game the whole way.

Good to hear you had an exciting one as well. Where are you going next week?

BubbaRef Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 579051)
Then you saw my best part... :D


Good to hear you had an exciting one as well. Where are you going next week?

STM Sec on Monday, have BCC and Bismarck. Then Tues and Thurs Normal for 4A regional.

Week after that Lincoln Tues and thurs for 3A Sectional. Then I will be done.

stosh Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 578851)
Doing some girls and middle school games so they things happen. Say a player makes a basket at the wrong end. Does the same team take out after the basket and can they run the line?
Also, does the clock keep running in this situation if there isn't a foul. I'm thinking the table might get confused or something and not count the basket.

If there is a foul, especially in the act of "shooting", the play is immediately blown dead and the basket does not count. If the foul occurs after the ball goes through the basket, the points count. The only way the "shooter" would go thier line would be if they were in the bonus, or it was an intentional or flagrant foul.

It has to be a try or tap at the teams own basket for the ball to remain live after getting fouled.

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BubbaRef (Post 579061)
STM Sec on Monday, have BCC and Bismarck. Then Tues and Thurs Normal for 4A regional.

Week after that Lincoln Tues and thurs for 3A Sectional. Then I will be done.

Congrats on the Sectionals!

If you see the STM coach, ask him if he's taught his players the proper basket to shoot at. ;) :D

muxbule Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 578851)
Doing some girls and middle school games so they things happen. Say a player makes a basket at the wrong end. Does the same team take out after the basket and can they run the line?

This happened to me for the first time a couple weeks ago. B1 rebounded a missed free throw and promptly put it back up. Wrong basket and, amazingly, uncontested.:p B2 grabbed the ball and inbounded with no hesitation and we were off and running again.

mutantducky Fri Feb 13, 2009 02:38pm

you know what you could do, but make sure the timer and refs know about it so they don't stop the clock. Because you don't want there to be confusion about the play. But at the end of the game make a basket on purpose. say the team is up by 3+ with under 10 seconds to go. Clock keeps running after the basket and time might run out.
kind of like taking a safety in football. risky strategy though.

stosh Fri Feb 13, 2009 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 579069)
This happened to me for the first time a couple weeks ago. B1 rebounded a missed free throw and promptly put it back up. Wrong basket and, amazingly, uncontested.:p B2 grabbed the ball and inbounded with no hesitation and we were off and running again.

Oh, and throwing the ball at the opponents backboard also constitutes a dribble, so if the player that "shot" at the wrong basket had already dribbled, they can't get their own "rebound" without there being a double dribble, I think.

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stosh (Post 579178)
Oh, and throwing the ball at the opponents backboard also constitutes a dribble, so if the player that "shot" at the wrong basket had already dribbled, they can't get their own "rebound" without there being a double dribble, I think.

In your case, if the player was airborne when they threw the ball against the opponents backboard, it would be a travel. (pivot foot violation.) If they were in contact with the floor when they threw the ball against the opponents backboard, it would be double dribble (starting a second dribble.)

jdmara Fri Feb 13, 2009 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578855)
A player (A1) throwing the ball through their own basket does in fact award two points (and only ever 2 points) to the opposite team. The individual credited for the two points is of no significance to the officials. A would then take the ball OB for a throw-in, with full endline privileges. The clock keeps going.

If you can get everyone on the same page with no hiccups, then go for it.

Since everyone is likely confused, it's good practice to stop the game, verbalize what happened and how we're continuing.

I'm definitely not arguing your point but is there a rule citation that says a basketball made at the wrong basket could not be worth three points? I can't seem to find one.

-Josh

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 03:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 579199)
I'm definitely not arguing your point but is there a rule citation that says a basketball made at the wrong basket could not be worth three points? I can't seem to find one.

-Josh

5-2-1 requires that a player be located behind his/her teams own 19'9" arc to be awarded 3 pts. That can't exist at your opponents basket.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579204)
5-2-1 requires that a player be located behind his/her teams own 19'9" arc to be awarded 3 pts. That can't exist at your opponents basket.

Your post made me alter the mistake I made in my original response. However, your statement, although correct, is incomplete.

A person scoring on their opponent's basket (which is the wrong basket) was likely behind their own 3-point line. However, a 3-point basket can only be scored on a try for goal. Since shooting at the wrong basket is not a try (by definition), there can not be a valid 3-pointer when shot at the wrong basket.

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579221)
Your post made me alter the mistake I made in my original response. However, your statement, although correct, is incomplete.

A person scoring on their opponent's basket (which is the wrong basket) was likely behind their own 3-point line. However, a 3-point basket can only be scored on a try for goal. Since shooting at the wrong basket is not a try (by definition), there can not be a valid 3-pointer when shot at the wrong basket.

Not completely accurate either. It can be a tap/try or throw as long as it is made in your teams basket. 5-2-1

Adam Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579224)
Not completely accurate either. It can be a tap/try or throw as long as it is made in your teams basket. 5-2-1

It used to have to be a try, which caused confusion on alley-oop passes that went in the basket. The officials had to judge whether it was a try or a pass. The rule change took that judgment away.

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:22pm

I know JugRef and Snaq know this rule inside and out and we are all in agreement. It is not possible make a basket at your opponents goal and be awarded 3 points.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579224)
Not completely accurate either. It can be a tap/try or throw as long as it is made in your teams basket. 5-2-1

Are you saying that I missed the case of a tap for 3 points in your own basket?

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579233)
Are you saying that I missed the case of a tap for 3 points in your own basket?

NO, I was including a throw. 5.2.1 sit C

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579234)
NO, I was including a throw. 5.2.1 sit C

No books with me at present; can you enlighten me?

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579239)
No books with me at present; can you enlighten me?

5.2.1(C) A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by; (c) A2 who is in the three point area;

Ruling: (c) score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line.

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579241)
5.2.1(C) A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by; (c) A2 who is in the three point area;

Ruling: (c) score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line.

A2's touching does not end the try, so I fail to see how your point makes mine inaccurate.

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579251)
A2's touching does not end the try, so I fail to see how your point makes mine inaccurate.

A1 didn't attempt a try, A1 threw the ball. Iow, A1 was perhaps passing to A2 who wasn't looking, the ball bounces off A2's head and goes through the basket. It is still worth 3 points, even though there wasn't a try.

mutantducky Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:31pm

I thought there was some rule that if a shot goes off someones head it doesent count? If on accident yes, but on purpose don't count the basket?

bob jenkins Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 579255)
I thought there was some rule that if a shot goes off someones head it doesent count? If on accident yes, but on purpose don't count the basket?


Well, if it's on purpose, it's pretty much going to be a T, I'd think. That would make the ball dead.

mutantducky Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:34pm

steve nash could do it. Maybe a shot for the Horse/Geico competition during All-Star weekend

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 579255)
I thought there was some rule that if a shot goes off someones head it doesent count? If on accident yes, but on purpose don't count the basket?

If you can find that rule, let me know.

Otherwise, use your head and just apply the rules. :)

Scratch85 Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579251)
A2's touching does not end the try, so I fail to see how your point makes mine inaccurate.


I wasn't trying to make your point inaccurate, I was just trying to add a throw (not a tap or try) to your point.

Footnote: M&M gives a description of what I meant. :D

M&M Guy Fri Feb 13, 2009 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579261)
I wasn't trying to make your point inaccurate, I was just trying to add a throw (not a tap or try) to your point.

Footnote: M&M gives a description of what I meant. :D

Hey, Snaqs, that's how you do it! :D

<font size=1>(Yea, I know...I'll shut up now.)</font size>

Adam Fri Feb 13, 2009 06:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 579263)
Hey, Snaqs, that's how you do it! :D

<font size=1>(Yea, I know...I'll shut up now.)</font size>

"STFU" Dan_ref 2008

Scratch85 Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 579263)
Hey, Snaqs, that's how you do it! :D

<font size=1>(Yea, I know...I'll shut up now.)</font size>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 579274)
"STFU" Dan_ref 2008

Too funny! :D

BillyMac Sat Feb 14, 2009 08:20am

Inquiring Minds Want To Know ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578855)
In Fed, the object is to score on your own basket. In FIBA, the reverse is true.

Does this have something to do with the metric system? And while were on international rules, why is it in soccer, called football in the metric system, the clock counts up, while in every other team sport, that I know of, the clock counts down?

BillyMac Sat Feb 14, 2009 08:27am

Is The Official Correct ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 579255)
I thought there was some rule that if a shot goes off someones head it doesn't count?

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 579259)
If you can find that rule, let me know.

Ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. Horn sounds to end the period before the ball enters A-1's basket. Official disallows the goal.

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 579252)
A1 didn't attempt a try, A1 threw the ball. Iow, A1 was perhaps passing to A2 who wasn't looking, the ball bounces off A2's head and goes through the basket. It is still worth 3 points, even though there wasn't a try.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 579261)
I wasn't trying to make your point inaccurate, I was just trying to add a throw (not a tap or try) to your point.

Footnote: M&M gives a description of what I meant. :D

I have never ever had this play!

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 579370)
Ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. Horn sounds to end the period before the ball enters A-1's basket. Official disallows the goal.

Yes.

Was not a try for goal - therefore no basket. It is a goal in the case without the horn sounding because a live ball went through the basket.

The horn makes the ball dead unless it's a try/tap for goal, in which case the quarter is extended until it is certain that the ball will not go in.

That's my ruling.

JugglingReferee Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 579367)
Does this have something to do with the metric system? And while were on international rules, why is it in soccer, called football in the metric system, the clock counts up, while in every other team sport, that I know of, the clock counts down?

Camron can best answer that! :D

BillyMac Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:37am

Let's Move On To The Bonus Round ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 579397)
Yes. Was not a try for goal, therefore no basket. It is a goal in the case without the horn sounding because a live ball went through the basket. The horn makes the ball dead unless it's a try/tap for goal, in which case the quarter is extended until it is certain that the ball will not go in. That's my ruling.

Good answer. Now let's change it up a little. Middle of the period, so no horn is involved.

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on the ring when it is touched by B-1. Official calls basket interference, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?

For extra credit:

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on it's downward flight, above the level of the basket, outside the cylinder, has a good chance of going in, and the ball is touched by B-1. Official calls goaltending, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?

BillyMac Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:39am

He's What You Call An Expert ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 579367)
Why is it in soccer, called football in the metric system, the clock counts up, while in every other team sport, that I know of, the clock counts down?

Mark Padgett: Does the clock count up, or does it count down, in croquet?

bob jenkins Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 579410)
Good answer. Now let's change it up a little. Middle of the period, so no horn is involved.

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on the ring when it is touched by B-1. Official calls basketball interference, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on it's downward flight, above the level of the basket, outside the cylinder, has a good chance of going in, and the ball is touched by B-1. Official calls goaltending, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?

Yes.

No.

just another ref Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 579410)

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on the ring when it is touched by B-1. Official calls basketball interference, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?

You mean basket interference? Then, yes, he is correct.

Quote:


For extra credit:

Passed ball hits A-1 in the head and deflects toward A-1's basket. The ball is on it's downward flight, above the level of the basket, outside the cylinder, has a good chance of going in, and the ball is touched by B-1. Official calls goaltending, and awards the goal. Is the official correct?
No. To be goaltending, it must be a try.

BillyMac Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:19pm

New Rule, Players Can't Ever Touch The Basketball, Never Ever ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 579419)
You mean basket interference?

Fixed it. Thanks just another ref. I don't know how that snuck in there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1