The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Press Cause Intentional (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51580-press-cause-intentional.html)

Man In Blue Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:52pm

Press Cause Intentional
 
Team B puts on full court press of team A after a made basket.

1. B2 holds A2 away from the ball as part of the press before the ball is passed in bounds.

2. A2 sets an illegal screen on B2 before the ball is passed in bounds after a made basket.

By rule are these both intentional fouls?

I have never called either of these fouls intentional no matter the time in the game. I also have never seen them called intentional. I know that doesn't make it right but should they be called intentional?

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Man In Blue (Post 578110)
Team B puts on full court press of team A after a made basket.

1. B2 holds A2 away from the ball as part of the press before the ball is passed in bounds.

2. A2 sets an illegal screen on B2 before the ball is passed in bounds after a made basket.

By rule are these both intentional fouls?

I have never called either of these fouls intentional no matter the time in the game. I also have never seen them called intentional. I know that doesn't make it right but should they be called intentional?

By rule, no, they are not intentional fouls. Intentional fouls are your judgment, not a rule. (Contrast this with FIBA which says that B fouls on an IB play are in fact UNS fouls (equiv to INT).)

If you judged B2 to intentionally hold A2, then yes come up with the X. An illegal screen being INT? I can't imagine how...

I think in my career, I have seen one INT-hold on an IB play. Very rare, imho.

SmokeEater Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Man In Blue (Post 578110)
Team B puts on full court press of team A after a made basket.

1. B2 holds A2 away from the ball as part of the press before the ball is passed in bounds.

2. A2 sets an illegal screen on B2 before the ball is passed in bounds after a made basket.

By rule are these both intentional fouls?

By FIBA rule set;

1. Unsporting to foul before the ball is passed inbounds.
Penalty 2 shots + ball at half

2. Team Control if ball is at the disposal of the player throwing it in.
No shots, Possesion to B, OOB.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 578114)
By FIBA rule set;

1. Unsporting to foul before the ball is passed inbounds.
Penalty 2 shots + ball at half

2. Team Control if ball is at the disposal of the player throweing it in.
No shots, Possesion to B, OOB.

Really?

SmokeEater Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578117)
Really?

Yes, reference 36.2.2 but if its just the wording your refering to how does this sound;

2 shots followed by a throw in at the center line extended, opposite the scorers table.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:23pm

Fair enough. Is there a foul that has 2 shots + TI @ spot nearest foul?

SmokeEater Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578147)
Fair enough. Is there a foul that has 2 shots + TI @ spot nearest foul?

Not UNS or Tech, which both are followed by the TI at Mid court as described.

I can't think of one that would occur in FIBA.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SmokeEater (Post 578155)
Not UNS or Tech, which both are followed by the TI at Mid court as described.

I can't think of one that would occur in FIBA.

Thanks!

eg-italy Wed Feb 11, 2009 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 578147)
Fair enough. Is there a foul that has 2 shots + TI @ spot nearest foul?

Not under FIBA rules. Any throw-in which is part of a "free throw(s) and ball" penalty is administered from the division line (opposite to the table).

Ciao

bob jenkins Wed Feb 11, 2009 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Man In Blue (Post 578110)
Team B puts on full court press of team A after a made basket.

1. B2 holds A2 away from the ball as part of the press before the ball is passed in bounds.

This could be an intentional if B2 just grabbed A2 -- especially if it was near the end of the game and B was trailing by a few points and A2 is a poor FT shooter. If B2 was just trying to prevent A2 from cutting to a spot but used hands / arms to hinder A2, then it's likely not an intentional foul.

Quote:

2. A2 sets an illegal screen on B2 before the ball is passed in bounds after a made basket.
Not intentional unless you think the contact is excessive -- as a pulling guard "screens" a defensive end into the ground on a sweep.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1