The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51576-ft-violation.html)

bigdogrunnin Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:40am

FT Violation
 
I KNOW, I should know this, but my mind is dead right now. Situation . . .

Last night, GV, pregame conversation with H coach. He asks, "If my girl is shooting free throws, and part of her routine is to step back, and she inadvertently steps outside of the "key" behind the 3-pt. arc, is this a violation?"

I told him yes, but didn't have a rules citation for him. The official who was on the game in question made the violation call, but didn't have a rules reference either. Since I have NEVER had this come up, I was really at a disadvantage. Help . . . please. Thanks.

cdoug Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:43am

You and the other official were right...

9-1-1: ...The try shall be attempted from within the free-throw semicircle and behind the free-throw line.

bas2456 Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 578068)
You and the other official were right...

9-1-1: ...The try shall be attempted from within the free-throw semicircle and behind the free-throw line.

That says the try shall be attempted...says nothing about inadvertently stepping out of the circle.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:47am

9-1-3:

ART. 3 . . . After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:
a. He/she shall throw within 10 seconds to cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the free throw ends.
b. The free thrower shall not fake a try, nor shall any player in a marked lane space fake to cause an opponent to violate.
c. No opponent shall disconcert the free thrower.
d. No player shall enter or leave a marked lane space.
e. The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket or the free-throw semicircle line.
f. A player, other than the free thrower, who does not occupy a marked lane space, may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the free-throw line extended and the three-point line which is farther from the basket.
g. A player occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary, or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (2 inches by 36 inches) designated by a lane-space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the space (12 inches by 36 inches) designated by a neutral zone.

PENALTIES: (Section 1)
1. If the first or only violation is by the free thrower or a teammate, the ball becomes dead when the violation occurs and no point can be scored by that throw.

hoopguy Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:57am

another free throw violation question
 
While in the marked lane spaces, how far may a player move backward(away from the key) without being in violation? 12 inches?

deecee Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:04pm

I do not think there is a defined amount -- but within reason we want them on the lane line. If they take a small step back and just stand there I do not see a problem with it.

Hartsy Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 578072)
While in the marked lane spaces, how far may a player move backward(away from the key) without being in violation? 12 inches?

36 inches, I believe, from somewhere in the rulebook I can't recall.

Adam Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by hoopguy (Post 578072)
While in the marked lane spaces, how far may a player move backward(away from the key) without being in violation? 12 inches?

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 578073)
I do not think there is a defined amount -- but within reason we want them on the lane line. If they take a small step back and just stand there I do not see a problem with it.

1-5-2
36 inches

deecee Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 578077)
1-5-2
36 inches

there we go.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 11, 2009 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin (Post 578066)
I KNOW, I should know this, but my mind is dead right now. Situation . . .

Last night, GV, pregame conversation with H coach. He asks, "If my girl is shooting free throws, and part of her routine is to step back, and she inadvertently steps outside of the "key" behind the 3-pt. arc, is this a violation?"

I told him yes, but didn't have a rules citation for him. The official who was on the game in question made the violation call, but didn't have a rules reference either. Since I have NEVER had this come up, I was really at a disadvantage. Help . . . please. Thanks.

9.1.3 SITUATION J: The official administering a free throw awarded to A1
places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle
leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate. RULING: Violation. After the ball
has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower,
he/she is not permitted to
leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have
ended.
(9-1-3e Penalty 1)

BillyMac Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:03pm

Juggling Referee, You're Welcome ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 578076)
36 inches.

91.4 cm, for our feeble Canadian friends.

BillyMac Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:05pm

Because He Was Larry Bird, That's Why ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cdoug (Post 578068)
9-1-1:The try shall be attempted from within the free-throw semicircle and behind the free-throw line.

The NBA did make an exception for Larry Bird. He always caught the bounced ball from the offcial while standing on the semicircle, and then walked into his free throw routine.

williebfree Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:06pm

Does that flucuate....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 578368)
91.4 cm, for our feeble Canadian friends.

w/ the exchange rate? :)

Nevadaref Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 578371)
The NBA did make an exception for Larry Bird. He always caught the bounced ball from the offcial while standing on the semicircle, and then walked into his free throw routine.

That is perfectly legal. The outside edge of the arc defines the boundary. The player is allowed to touch the semi-circle.

mutantducky Thu Feb 12, 2009 03:47am

Canadian Beer sucks.
movie reference....


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1