![]() |
5 Second Count question
Do we suspend the 5 second count/closely guarded count when the player starts his/her drive to the basket? Lets say we have the count going out top and we get to 3 with the player dribbling in place. He then makes a move toward the rim with his defender right on his hip.
Do we suspend the count? What is the criteria for stopping the count assuming the defender is still closely guarding the player with the ball? |
|
Head and shoulders by the defender ASFAIK.
|
The way I've always interpreted it is that if the ballhandler makes an obvious move towards the basket, then I stop counting. If he takes one step, or takes a slow step without really making an effort, then I keep counting.
|
If he gets his head and shoulders past the defender, the counts ends.
|
Dammit! Mark you're quick!
|
Quote:
Seriously though, if your count ends then you to have start all over again, you don't resume where you left off. |
Quote:
Thanks |
A buddy of mine asked me if in college the rule counts if the person with the ball penetrates the 28 foot line.
?? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
More importantly, once LGP is gained, what can he possibly do to lose it? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
In the Fed rules, its stated under the definition of closely guarded in rule 4.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And a defender can lose his LGP by a quick move and the defender falls, offense gets his head and shoulders past the defender, defender and offensive player move to the same position and collide at the same time, I would put this contact on the defense all the time. |
Quote:
And where does it say a defender who has fallen has lost his LGP? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
A player is not continusously guarding an offensive player if he doesn't have LGP.
Because by your interpretation then the offensive player beating the defender shouldn't matter at well. |
However, As An Official, Na Na Na Na, Na Na Na Na, Hey Hey Eh, Goodbye ...
Quote:
Quote:
When I was coaching middle school, I used those 28 foot lines to teach my players how to properly fill lanes on the fast break. Players filling the left, and right, side lanes were supposed to actually touch the 28 foot line, or they got an "earful" from me. As a coach, I was sorry to see them go. |
Quote:
6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. RULING: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the court, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant. So INITIAL LGP is required, but I don't know of anything requiring that LGP be maintained. In fact, this very case book play seems to indicate the opposite. Especially important is the part about the actual body position not being relevant. Yet it isn't clear exactly what that means. One could take it that the defender can fall down, sit down, or even lie down and the closely-guarded count should continue or one could read the play to say that there are two and only two requirements which must be met--both feet on the court and facing the opponent. If either of those requirements ceases, then the count ends. I'm inclined to read it in the first manner as forcing the defender to keep both feet on the court is clearly silly. The defender has to be allowed to move and even jump. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am. |