![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
![]()
Scorer miss-hears what number the calling official reports the personal foul is on, but instead of informing the official(s) of this immediately, lets the ball become live and play continue for 5 minutes, until the next foul is called and reported. Both books have recorded a team foul with no jersey number. Procedure/ruling?
|
|
|||
A scorekeeping mistake can be corrected at any time until the final score is approved. If the official knows who the foul was on, record the information and move on. If nobody can come up with the number, then I think you're in 2-3 land. In which case I'd probably assign it to the player on the floor who has the fewest fouls.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Then you would have a problem that the book would not balance out. When I kept score for the girls team back when I was the boys coach at a small school, that's how I made sure I wasn't missing any fouls.
Last edited by Ref Ump Welsch; Fri Feb 06, 2009 at 08:31am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with Nevada -- get the part you know (the team has a foul) and admonish the scorekeeper to get clarification right away next time. |
|
|||
You make an annotation in the book that there is an unassigned personal foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
When we give a team technical foul, it's not assigned to anyone, so that also makes the book not balance out. If you're a very conscientious scorer and need it to "balance", then make a notation, as BNR mentioned.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with everyone, the book person should have it right the first time, and immediately get the number than to wait. In this situation, a notation could be made. Don't be surprised if you're contacted by a conference or the state association (in Iowa, we're required to sign our names in the book and we can get contacted later about problems like this). |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
Book Error | Forksref | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 10, 2005 10:37am |
Player Error or Referee Error??? | BK | Basketball | 21 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 01:04pm |
personal foul on player, then given a techniacl | gwockenfuss | Basketball | 28 | Tue Jan 13, 2004 04:19pm |
Book Error | Troward | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 04, 2003 12:30am |