The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clarification on in bounds rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51444-clarification-bounds-rule.html)

Refsmitty Thu Feb 05, 2009 09:38am

Clarification on in bounds rule
 
If a player while inbounding the ball:

1. Steps on but not beyond the out of bounds line is that a violation?
2. If the ball bounces on the out of bounds line on a pass in is that a violation?

Partner and I were debating last night on this in bounds issue.

jdmara Thu Feb 05, 2009 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 576005)
If a player while inbounding the ball:

1. Steps on but not beyond the out of bounds line is that a violation?
2. If the ball bounces on the out of bounds line on a pass in is that a violation?

Partner and I were debating last night on this in bounds issue.

No and Yes

-Josh

Lotto Thu Feb 05, 2009 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 576005)
If a player while inbounding the ball:

1. Steps on but not beyond the out of bounds line is that a violation?
2. If the ball bounces on the out of bounds line on a pass in is that a violation?

Just remember that the line itself is out of bounds, so your questions become:

If a player while inbounding the ball:

1. Steps out of bounds is that a violation?
2. If the ball bounces out of bounds on a pass is that a violation?

Now the answers are easy: no and yes, as Josh said.

BillyMac Thu Feb 05, 2009 06:53pm

Inbounds, Out Of Bounds, Myths Debunked ...
 
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 05, 2009 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 576204)
A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds. It is a violation for a player to intentionally leave the court for an unauthorized reason.


Billy:

Maybe, maybe not. Ain't I a stinker, :D.

But seriously, you have done a great job of debunking some inbounds and out-of-bounds myths.

MTD, Sr.

BillyMac Thu Feb 05, 2009 07:44pm

Black, Or White ??? Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Picks Gray ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 576208)
Maybe, maybe not.

Glad to see that you're still on the fence. I hope that it's not a picket fence, because that would really hurt.

Back In The Saddle Fri Feb 06, 2009 05:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 576212)
Glad to see that you're still on the fence. I hope that it's not a picket fence, because that would really hurt.

And the fence probably isn't thrilled with being sat on either. :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1