![]() |
Ruling
Chewing the fat after pregame last night and one of the crew came up with this sitch.
A1 shooting free throw, we have a lane violation on B2 which prompts a delayed call with extended fist. Prior to shooting, A coach is granted timeout. Upon resumption do you honor delayed violation call? Can't find any backup or casebook scenario. I said yes, as it would be similar to running endline privilege that would apply after a timeout. Thoughts? |
Quote:
|
I would think you would have to just grant the timeout. The delay violation would only apply if there is a missed shot. The FT shooting team did not complete the process to benefit from the violation.
I do not have the book in front of me, but this sounds like a no-brainer in this situation. Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
fullor30: Yes. The delayed dead violation stays in effect, even if B2 occupies a different position on the court after the TO or is subsituted for during the TO. I am certain that there has been either a Casebook Play or an Interpretation or both published in the past. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
I think this is one thing I would like the FED to change. Like the crappy backcourt ruling this can go as well.
|
Quote:
I do not see any such reference at this point in the casebook. They talk about what is a violation, but there is nothing that I can find that suggests a violation simply carries over after a timeout. And I understand that we try to use years old interpretations on this site, but I was told by someone that sat on the NF Committee, that when an interpretation is removed from the casebook, there is a reason. In other words, the interpretation has changed or it no longer applies to the current rules. I am still looking, I just do not find such a reference. Peace |
Quote:
. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Case book play 9.1.3SitC is the exact play.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Probably should have it's own section called "DELAYED DELAYED VIOLATION".:D |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm. |