The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   6 on the Floor/Coaches Box (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51404-6-floor-coaches-box.html)

Spence Tue Feb 03, 2009 01:45pm

6 on the Floor/Coaches Box
 
I had a T for 6 on the floor last night.

Am I correct that the coach does not lose the coach's box for this type of T?

Am I correct that its not an indirect on the coach?

Adam Tue Feb 03, 2009 01:46pm

Team foul only, nothing to any individual.

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 03, 2009 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575372)
Team foul only, nothing to any individual.

Unless the coach is also wearing an illegal number.

Never mind. :p

Refsmitty Tue Feb 03, 2009 03:42pm

We had the same last night
 
We discovered 6 when the team inbound had the ball at their disposal - coach stated that we hadn't inbound yet so no T - we disagreed - were we correct?:)

Bad Zebra Tue Feb 03, 2009 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refsmitty (Post 575438)
... were we correct?:)

Was the ball live when it was at the throwers disposal? That would answer your question.

BillyMac Tue Feb 03, 2009 07:18pm

Six Players ???
 
Penalized if discovered while being violated: A team shall not have more than five team members participating simultaneously. Team technical foul. A team technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball. If it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after the ball became live following the first dead ball, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Spence Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575372)
Team foul only, nothing to any individual.

Coach still has use of the box , correct?

zm1283 Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 575511)
Coach still has use of the box , correct?

A team technical isn't an indirect or direct to the head coach.

Look at the technical foul summary chart at the back of the rule book.

deecee Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:01am

In my whole career I have had 1 maybe 2 of these T's -- and in the last 2 weeks it would seem like there is an epidemic of this going around.

HEY REFS!!!!!handle your business. make sure there are 5 to start, and if you start and there are 6 well issue the T.

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2009 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 575511)
Coach still has use of the box , correct?

the only way the coach loses his box is if he gets either a direct or an indirect technical foul assessed to him. A six player T goes only to the team, so yes, he keeps the use of the box.

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2009 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 575526)
In my whole career I have had 1 maybe 2 of these T's -- and in the last 2 weeks it would seem like there is an epidemic of this going around.

HEY REFS!!!!!handle your business. make sure there are 5 to start, and if you start and there are 6 well issue the T.

Hey, I'm part of the epidemic; but it's only the 1st one I've called at the high school level. Sh!t happens, and it's on the coach when it does.

mbyron Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575611)
the only way the coach loses his box is if he gets either a direct or an indirect technical foul assessed to him. A six player T goes only to the team, so yes, he keeps the use of the box.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575611)
Hey, I'm part of the epidemic; but it's only the 1st one I've called at the high school level. Sh!t happens, and it's on the coach when it does.

Well, which is it? :D

Adam Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 575623)
Well, which is it? :D

You know what to do.

M&M Guy Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 575633)
You know what to do.

Rotflhao?

:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1